The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis

Hello everyone! It’s Zoe here today and I am going to be reviewing a book I read late last month called The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis. Here we go!

32596137.jpg

Maggie Sanders might be blind, but she won’t invite anyone to her pity party. Ever since losing her sight six months ago, Maggie’s rebellious streak has taken on a life of its own, culminating with an elaborate school prank. Maggie called it genius. The judge called it illegal.

Now Maggie has a probation officer. But she isn’t interested in rehabilitation, not when she’s still mourning the loss of her professional soccer dreams, and furious at her so-called friends, who lost interest in her as soon as she could no longer lead the team to victory.

When Maggie first meets Ben, she thinks she can add “crazy” to her list of problems. But the precocious ten-year-old isn’t a hallucination. Maggie can actually see him. She immediately befriends the kid, desperate for any chance to see again.

It turns out Ben’s older brother is the compelling Mason Milton, lead singer of Maggie’s favourite band. Music is the first thing that has made Maggie feel alive since losing her sight. But when she learns the real reason she can see Ben, Maggie must find the courage to face a once-unimaginable future…before she loses everything she has grown to love.

Wow…this book really shocked me! I was definitely not expecting something so emotional and heartbreaking and I was really surprised with the whole story. I picked this book up merely expecting it to be a cheesy, classic contemporary/romance novel but I was pleasantly surprised. I do admit the blurb was quite intriguing. The story begins with Maggie who has just gone blind and really lost a lot of who she is. She was a big soccer player and after losing her sight begins to lose her self. I found myself becoming really sympathetic for Maggie. I can’t even imagine what becoming blind would do to you, but it was when she meets Ben that the story begins.

I think what made this book so cute was the fact that Ben wasn’t the typical love interest that she can suddenly see, but rather a 10 year old with an awesome sense of humour. Ben has spina bifida but is so full of life that she is quickly drawn to his infectious personality. I loved Maggie and Ben and thought it was one of the best things about the story. They had such good banter and their friendship was so beautiful despite their age difference.

“I miss those minutes right around twilight, when it isn’t quite daytime, but it isn’t nighttime, either. It feels magical somehow, like you could do something phenomenal without even trying. I miss the scarlet in sunrises. And clouds. Stars. God, I miss stars.”

I thought most of the characters were really well developed. I really loved Maggie, the protagonist. She is very likeable and I thought her development as a character was strong and seeing parts of her old life before she was blind was a really good insight into who she was and who she then became. I think sometimes her attitude was slightly constant and I found myself annoyed by some of her decisions, but ultimately the grief she would have been though really difficult to write. Ben was by far my favourite character. He was so full of light and energy despite his disability, known as spina bifida, A birth defect in which a developing baby’s spinal cord fails to develop properly. His optimism and attitude toward life was really beautiful to see as he pursued his passion and was someone really likeable.

Despite these characters I did have issues with some of the others. I found Mason, Ben’s rock star older brother really annoying and hard to read. His attitude as soon as he men Maggie was so standoffish and withdrawn and seemed frankly quite rude. Although there is a reason behind this which is explained, I found his attitude quite disrespectful and he seemed very pessimistic throughout the story. Additionally, I found Maggie’s parents quite hard to read. The father didn’t really have a big part in the story which I think is sad because it is always the mum with the issue, but I found him rather unhelpful and distant. Maggie’s mum was clearly grieving for Maggie by almost shutting her out as it was too painful that Maggie had lost of dream of being a big soccer player, something they bonded over constantly. I found this really sad as her mother chose to lose her when she needed her the most.

I thought the story line was really well established and I loved the creativity behind the story. I love reading something original and different and I think this book branched out well from the typical, cheesy and overdone contemporary romance novels. Most of the characters were well developed and I found myself eager to find out what was going to happen. I did find the plot slightly slow but overall it was a really enjoyable book and I would urge you to read it if you enjoy quick and easy contemporary reads with a bit of a twist.

3.5/5 stars

So that is it for this review! I hope you all liked it and might decide to give this one a go. If you have read this book, make sure to tell me how you liked it in the comments below. I Hope you are all having a lovely October and we will be back with another post soon! x

5 comments

  1. Oh this sounds really good! I love the relationship between Maggie and Ben, I think I will enjoy reading about it a lot 🙂 It’s not something you see in YA fiction that much.
    Also really intrigued about why she’s able to see him! I can’t wait to find out 🙂
    I feel like I might cry a bit too but that’s okay. Great books do that, after all!
    Too bad about Mason… It sounds like a waste of a love interest.
    Amazing review, Zoe ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah it was a LOT better than I was expecting. I loved the relationship between Maggie and Ben and found it really unique because as you mentioned you don’t see a lot of it in YA fiction. I feel like everything is really based on romance so this was a nice change.
      It is a bit sad and pretty emotional but really good. Hope you really enjoy it if you read it!! Thank you so much for the lovely comment! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

