September Wrap Up ~ 2017

Annike: Hey guys, we totally forgot that the end of the month was approaching and now we are officially in October. So sorry that this wrap up is a little bit later than usual but we still wanted to let you guys know what books we read this months and what we thought of them.

Annike’s Books

  1. Feel Me Fall by James Morris – 3.5 stars
  2. Lucky in Love by Kasie West – 3 stars
  3. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – 3 stars
  4. The Ask and The Answer by Patrick Ness – 3 stars
  5. Nerve by Jeanne Ryan – 3 stars
  6. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon – 4 stars
  7. Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness – 3 stars
  8. Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee – 2.5 stars
  9. What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum – 3.5 stars
  10. You Don’t Even Know by Sue Lawson – 4 stars
  11. Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta – 4.5 stars

Screen Shot 2017-10-01 at 3.18.12 pm.png

Favourite Book: My favourite book this month actually has to be Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta which is actually a reread. I barely ever reread books because I think they become too predictable but I actually listened to this book towards the end of this month and read it some time last year. I love how it is set in my area and the characters are just so easy to fall in love with.

Least Favourite Book: Sadly, I think Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee was my least favourite book of the month. There is a review coming on this book but in short I just didn’t love any of the characters and while the concept was good, I had a hard time engaging in the plot.

Favourite Ending: I don’t think I particularly loved any of the endings of these books but I guess I’ll go with Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness because it was the last book of the series that I listened to throughout the month and I guess the ending of trilogies are always bound to be exciting.

Favourite Premise: I think the most exciting premise’s this month was Feel Me Fall by James Morris because it was a very exciting story with so many different twists and turns. Basically the story followed a group of kids stuck in the jungle after a plane crash and all the adventures they had. You can check out my review on it here.

Best Characters/Development: Other than Saving Francesca which I mentioned above, I would have to pick You Don’t Even Know by Sue Lawson. I absolutely adored the main character Alex and his sister Mia and I felt both the good and bad characters just leapt off the page which was amazing. I loved and hated a number of the characters and felt for them too which is always a sign of a very good book.

Favourite Cover: I think I’ll have to mention 2 books in this category: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon and Lucky in Love by Kasie west. These were both very light and fluffy books with beautiful, happy covers to complement them.

Biggest Disappointment: Unfortunately, I would have to say Nerve was my biggest disappointment this month. I really love the premise but I feel like it wasn’t executes as well as I would have liked and it fell a little short. The characters weren’t all that engaging and from the movie trailer I hoped it would be a little better.

Other: Some of the other books I read this month included The Knife of Never Letting Go and The Ask and the Answer which are both by Patrick Ness and part of the same series. I listened to them and liked them but felt they were a little young for me… I’m not quite sure. And then there was What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum which I didn’t like as much as one of her other books but had some great characters and a good plot.

Zoe’s Books:

  1. Nerve by Jeanne Ryan (3.5 stars)
  2. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult (5 stars)
  3. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling (3.5 stars)
  4. Cinder by Marissa Meyer (4.5 stars)
  5. The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis (3.5 stars)

Screen Shot 2017-10-01 at 3.39.31 pm.png

Favourite Book: Out of the 5 books I read I would have to say My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult was my favourite (seeing as I did give it 5 stars). I did a review on this book earlier in the month, but I loved this books emotional and touching language and loved all the characters development throughout the story. It was such a powerful and emotional story of love and family with a heart-breaking yet  beautiful ending but so well-written.

Least Favourite Book: I would have to say my least favourite book this month was The One Thing by Marci Lin Curtis but that isn’t to say I didn’t like it. I actually found this book quite interesting, but because I enjoyed all the others this would probably be my least favourite of the 5. I found it was a good, fun, quick read but it wasn’t necessarily memorable which is what I look for in a book. Despite this I liked the characters and the plot was quite original for a YA contemporary novel.

Best Characters/Development: Cinder by Marissa Meyer definitely best fits this category. I thought this book was amazing. The originality and creativity of the world of Cinder was so amazing and I think the characters were so fun and unique and I loved reading about each of them (esepcially Kai and Cinder)!

Favourite Premise: I would definitely have to say Nerve for this. I absolutely loved the idea of this book and the creativity behind the premise was so engaging. I do think the book was really good but didn’t exactly capitalise on the premise as I found the characters slightly annoying and some parts highly unrealistic but still enjoyed reading this quick, quirky and creative story.

Biggest Disappointment: This book had quite drastic reviews and sadly I would have to say Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling was my biggest disappointment of the month. I think the thing I found the saddest was the relationship between Albus and Harry as I thought it was a bit of a sad future. I feel as if the 7th book left on a really happy note and it was a bit bitter sweet to see the story return with this undesirable future. I still loved it because I love the Harry Potter series, the world of Hogwarts and found Albus and Scorpius so cute!!

Zoe: Thanks everyone for reading! Hope you all had an amazing September and read lots and lots of great books. If any of you have read and of the books above make sure to tell us your thoughts in the comments below as we love hearing from you! Hope you all have a good beginning of October and we will be back with our TBR for this month very soon! x

2 comments

Leave a Reply

