Cinder by Marissa Meyer Review

Hello everyone, it’s Zoe here today and I am doing a review on the book I have been promising myself to read for around a year and which I finally finished! It is the first book popular series The Lunar Chronicles, Cinder by Marissa Meyer, so here we go!


11235712.jpg

Sixteen-year-old Cinder is considered a technological mistake by most of society and a burden by her stepmother. Being cyborg does have its benefits, though: Cinder’s brain interference has given her an uncanny ability to fix things (robots, hovers, her own malfunctioning parts), making her the best mechanic in New Beijing. This reputation brings Prince Kai himself to her weekly market booth, needing her to repair a broken android before the annual ball. He jokingly calls it “a matter of national security,” but Cinder suspects it’s more serious than he’s letting on.

Although eager to impress the prince, Cinder’s intentions are derailed when her younger stepsister, and only human friend, is infected with the fatal plague that’s been devastating Earth for a decade. Blaming Cinder for her daughter’s illness, Cinder’s stepmother volunteers her body for plague research, an “honor” that no one has survived.But it doesn’t take long for thescientists to discover something unusual about their new guinea pig. Something others would kill for. 

I have put this book on my TBR for so many months and when I got my hands on it for around the 4th time I decided I just needed to start. I pushed myself to read the first chapter which lead to the second and before I knew it I had actually finished the book. I had heard so many amazing things about this book so have to say I had quite high expectations but I did think this book met them. It was so different to anything I had ever read and the imaginative storyline and characters I found so fun to read about. It was basically a futuristic version of Cinderella and the creativity behind the world of Cinder was so absurd but so creative that I couldn’t put it down and finished it in under a day!

I have to say that I found the beginning a bit slow and when I first started reading I had no idea what was happening. It jumped right into the world and I had a bit of trouble coming to terms with what was happening. When I was first introduced to Cinder I found her voice really interesting but was super confused with the term cyborg and how she was different to others (probably should have read the blurb:). Despite this, as I got to know the story and the world and I ended up really loving the character of Cinder. She is your classic tough, smart teenage YA main character but had additional elements such as her humour, resourcefulness and sass which made her a really fun voice to read. Not only did I love Cinder but my fav characters would have to be Peony (one of Cinder’s step sisters), Iko (her android) and Kai (the prince). I thought having one of the step-sisters have a loving relationship with Cinder and really nice alternative to the original Cinderella story. I found all the characters really great additions and fun to read about and loved seeing the original story be twisted.

“Even in the Future the Story Begins with Once Upon a Time.”

I didn’t love Levena (evil queen) or Adri (step mother) which is probably normal seeing as they are the two villains, but as I kept reading I found them more and more annoying. Also, I think something which was a bit of a let down was some of the parts in the middle. I genuinely felt that some of the lab scenes with Cinder were unnecessary and left me a bit lost. Throughout the book there is so much to learn as you are exploring a new world of endless imagination and I think this made parts a bit confusing. Despite this I think Marissa Meyer nailed the ending and unlike a lot of people I was so surprised by the plot twist. I thought it was perfect but when I look back at it I do wonder how I missed it!

I am so glad I finally picked this book up. I have been putting it off for ages because I wasn’t sure I would enjoy it, but am really happy I did read it because it is so original and out of the ordinary and such a fun read. I love Cinder and Kai and although there wasn’t a lot of romance in the book I think they would be really cute together:). Although there were some parts I wasn’t so sure about I think it is such a brilliant world Marissa Meyer has created and I can’t wait to read the second one!

  • 4/5 stars

Thank you so much for reading everyone! If you haven’t read this book I would highly recommend it even if you have been putting it off for ages like me:) If any of you have read this make sure to tell me your thoughts in the comments below, as I would love to see if any of you agree of disagree with what I have said. Hope you are all having a lovely September and we will be back with another post soon. x

15 comments

  1. I LOVED this book and I tell you, the story keeps on getting better as you get to the next books. I’m on the fourth book now and so so excited to know what happens next! I’m glad you enjoyed it too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeay! It was a great book (and Marissa Meyer has a way with world building). I’m a sucker for fairy-tale retells and although Cinder wasn’t my favorite of the Chronicles, I loved them all! I can’t wait to hear which stories of the series you like best!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Levana develops a little more evil character as the story goes one, but Adri is pretty flat. I’ll be interested to see what you think of the next books. I think Cress and Thorn are my favorite pair. I liked Kai/Cinder, but not as much as the others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

