Nerve by Jeanne Ryan Joint Review

Annike: Hey guys, Zoe and I are officially on holidays which means we can finally get on top of blogging again. I promise we will try to do as many tags and awards we have been tagged in that we can. We really appreciate it when you guys think of us for those things – it’s just sometimes a little hard to get to them all. On another note, Zoe and I finally both read a book and will be reviewing it together today which is quite uncommon on this blog! Hope you enjoy hearing from both of us, let’s go 🙂

31201539.jpg

ARE YOU PLAYING THE GAME OR IS THE GAME PLAYING YOU?

Vee doesn’t know if she has the guts to play NERVE, an anonymous online game of dares. But whoever’s behind the game knows exactly what she wants, enticing her with lustworthy prizes and a sizzling-hot partner. With Ian on her team, it’s easy to agree to another dare. And another. And another. At first it’s thrilling as the Watchers cheer them on to more dangerous challenges. But suddenly the game turns deadly. Will Vee and Ian risk their lives for the Grand Prize dare, or will they lose NERVE?

Z: Annike gave me this book to read and I thought it sounded really interesting. It totally reminded me of Panic by Lauren Oliver and I thought I would give it a go. It was super fast paced and I got really into the story. I think the storyline was slightly unrealistic and definitely out-there but it was an addictive read. On the other hand I found Vee, the main character as really hard to relate to. Her voice was really immature and I think the way she handled the situations in the book were quite odd.

A: Adding onto the characters in the book, I hate to say it but Nerve most definitely embodies some of the most blatantly stereotypical characters. For example, you have Sydney who is the main character’s drama queen best friend, a side character known as Ian who is no doubt very charming, and another friend of the main character who is so obviously crushing on the oblivious MC (Tommy). Despite some of these typical characterisations, I can’t say that none of them were enjoyable to read about. Ian was definitely my favourite characters, being as chivalrous and supportive as he was but Vee in my opinion, closely residing to that of Zoe’s, was just too careful that she came off quite boring.

Z: I would have say my favourite character was probably Tommy as he seemed more genuine than any of the other characters. I found Vee very annoying and I don’t even know specifically why. I think Tommy was at least partly interesting and have some common sense whilst the others were completely blindsided by Nerve.

A: Another issue I had with this book was the insta-love thing going on between Vee and Ian. I found it rather unbelievable to be honest and while I did like them together I think a lot of their dialogue and scenes didn’t enhance their relationship but instead made it unrealistic and slightly cheesy. I can’t commend Nerve on the most insightful or deep writing style but I also wouldn’t call it unbearable.

“Sweet is highly overrated.” So is responsible, loyal, and every other adjective you’d find scrawled in my yearbook.” 

Z: Something I found really good was getting to see the challenges which Vee and Ian were set by Nerve. I think this was a really fun part of the story as we got to wait and see what they were going to be offered and what the price of this was.

A: Definitely! The plot was fast moving and really relevant to modern society in which there really is a worry that technology is evolving and influencing in many negative ways. It also made for a really intriguing ride and while the book was small it was fast paced and enjoyable in this way most definitely. I think it also had a really good message as it encouraged taking risks, stepping out of your comfort zone but also staying true to your morals and not acting too often on impulse.

Z: Overall I would have to rate this book 3.5/5 stars. I have seen a lot of negative reviews on this book but I actually found it quite interesting and got really engaged in the plot even though I didn’t love the characters. Also I REALLY want to see the movie. It looks really good!

A: Yeah, I would have to give it a 3 stars overall. It was a good read but nothing exceptional. The plot and premise were the highlights but I think the writing and characters let it down a little.

Z: So that is it for this review. Thank you so much for reading everyone! If you guys have read the book or even watched the movie make sure to tell us if you enjoyed it in the comments below. Thank you so much, hope you are all having a good week and we will be back with another post soon (promise)! x

10 comments

  1. That sounds like an interesting book. I always feel the need to hide when people do something stupid/dangerous so I’m not sure I could read the book or watch the movie….
    Thank you for stopping by my review blog and liking my Harry Potter (#8) review!

    Like

    1. Yeah it’s definitely an intriguing one with some really good and other not so good things! I definitely want to watch the movie too – it looks quite different to the book to be honest. I hope you love both of them if you end up getting to the movie and book!!
      ~ A

      Like

  2. OH MY GOODNESS. I just watched this movie and had no idea it was a book as well!!!! The movie was CRAZY. The plot was all over the place and I didn’t get to see the end but I heard everything just got wild and totally unexpected. I agree about the characters although I think they probably come across as more relatable in the movie, but Tommy was my favorite. I feel so bad for him. Sydney was so jealous you could tell from the beginning she was going to get jealous. I think the challenges were also super cool to see in the movie, it brought it more to life and my heart was literally beating during some of them. Great review!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

