July Wrap-Up

Annike: Hey guys, this month actually went so fast! Like I have no idea where it went. Today isn’t the last day of the month but I figured it’s close enough so we wanted to let you guys know of some of the books we read this month whether we reviewed them or not. Let’s go!

Annike’s Books:

  1. One of us is Lying by Karen M. McManus – 5 stars (review coming)
  2. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – 3.5 stars
  3. Thousand Words by Jennifer Brown – 3 stars
  4. A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard – 3.5 stars
  5. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – 4 stars
  6. The Leaving by Tara Altebrando – 3 stars (review coming)
  7. The Tournament by Matthew Reilly – 4 stars

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 4.14.00 pm.pngFavourite Book: So as you can probably see, I really enjoyed a lot of the books I read this month. However I did give 1 a 5 stars which was One of us is Lying by Karen M. McManus. I really loved the premise of the book and the mystery was so entrancing. It had really good characters and a really diverse groups of different themes.

Least Favourite Book: There were no books this month for me that I didn’t like and none got below a 3 stars by for me, Thousand Words by Jennifer Brown was probably my least favourite as it fell a bit flat. I liked the premise and hadn’t read of anything like that before but it was all a little boring and the characters didn’t stick out to me. I guess it was just a bit forgettable if that isn’t too rude to say…

Favourite Ending: I feel like you  guys know by now that I am always a sucker for cutesy stories that are light and happy. A Quiet Kind of Thunder was no exception to this! I loved the idea of having one deaf character and one mute character and exploring the way they communicated. The book wasn’t my favourite overall cause I felt it was lacking in a few places but it was definitely sweet.

Favourite Premise: Matthew Reilly is a very popular author who I have to say I have never read before. The Tournament is a book that I actually listened to as I have heaps of time to kill when I walk in the mornings. So it is a thriller, a mystery and a historical fiction book which are some really new genres for me. But I actually really loved it and the way Reilly incorporated chess (a game I am not very familiar with) and made it super interesting to read about was great.

Favourite Writing Style: So, I actually just added this category today cause I really thought The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald deserved the title. I don’t often find myself reading classics but I watched the movie and listened to the book and absolutely loved the writing style. It was so beautifully described and the characters really came to life so definitely an enjoyable read.

Favourite Cover: This month my favourite cover will have to go to The Leaving by Tara Altebrando. I love the way that the author or illustrator incorporated the six swings and the one that is missing represents the child that never came back. This really was my month for mystery books as I seemed to read heaps! Again, I liked this book when I was reading it but there were things upon reflection that I just couldn’t understand in context or couldn’t understand why they added to the story. I definitely want to review this one though so look out for that!

Biggest Disappointment: And lastly, my biggest disappointment for this month has to be 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher. This book was actually a re-read so it might be a bit confusing why this book was a let down after I had already read it once. However, I think the reason that it was, was simply because I started watching the TV show which I felt had so much more depth that when I went back to the book I was a little underwhelmed. Don’t get me wrong – amazing premise – but like I’m not sure the writing or storyline was my favourite.

Zoe’s Books

  1. Kings Cage by Victoria Aveyard (4 stars)
  2. Remind Me How This Ends by Gabrielle Tozer (2.5 stars)
  3. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher (3.5 stars)
  4. Instructions for a Second-Hand Heart by Tamsyn Murray (3.5 stars)

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 11.24.50 pm.png

Favourite Book: As shown from my star ratings I would have to say my favourite book was King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard. I thought this book was amazingly written and I loved getting to read the different perspectives and views of characters other than Mare. Although there were some faults, I thought the book was really good and can’t wait to read the last one!! I have done a full review on this so if you want to know more about it make sure to check that out:)

Least Favourite Book: This month’s least favourite book award would have to go to Remind Me How This Ends b Gabrielle Tozer. I thought it was a really sweet book but I didn’t really engage with the story as much as I was hoping and it let me down a bit from the original premise. I think I wasn’t able to connect with either Milo or Layla which was disappointing as I wasn’t able to really enjoy getting to read one of their perspectives and made it a bit boring to continue reading unfortunately.

Favourite Ending: I would have to say my favourite ending of a book this month was Instructions for a Second-Hand Heart by Tamsyn Murray as it was all beautifully wrapped up and left us with a bit of mystery but we could puzzle out what we wanted to happen. I thought the story was really sweet and it exceeded my original expectations of a clique, overdone rom-com story. I might do a review on this book soon so make sure you keep an eye out!

Biggest Disappointment: I am going to have to agree with Annike on this category. It isn’t often we both read the same book in the same month but I totally agree with her on this book. Although it was my first time reading it I felt slightly disconnected with the book and the characters and although I really loved the beginning and was really engaged I slowly lost interest and actually had trouble finishing it.

Zoe: Thanks for reading everyone! Hope you enjoyed getting to see all the books we read this month. Hope you all had a good month of reading also, and if you have read any of these books make sure to leave your comments below! Thank you all so much, we will be back with another post soon. x

One comment

Leave a Reply

