King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard Review

Hey guys it’s Zoë here and today I will be reviewing a book I read earlier this month called The King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard. This is the third book of the famous Red Queen Series so if you haven’t read the rest of the series you will probably be confused. There may be some spoilers so if you intend to read the book or the series be cautious:)

30226723.jpgMare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

This book is massive. I was so daunted by the size of this book I actually decided not to start it until I was sure I would be able to really become engaged in the story. I saved this until I went on holidays and was really glad I did so because I ended up reading it in 24 hours. I thought Victoria Aveyard did a great job in constructing the novel and it picked up perfectly from Glass Sword. I thought the characters were all well developed and I loved getting to see the different perspectives.

First of all I thought Mare was as good as ever. Her strong, smart and determined characteristics stayed with her even when she went through hell being captured by Maven. I really liked getting to read more about Maven and how he has developed as a character over the 2 books. I think we got to see a side of Maven which was vulnerable and got an explanation for why he is the way he is. This is a boy who is broken from birth by an evil mother so demonic that he can’t even distinguish his own thoughts from hers. I did end up feeling a bit sorry for Maven even thought I didn’t really want to. I think from his point of view he sees himself as evil but from mine personally I saw him as trapped in a world where he doesn’t really know what’s happening and trapped inside his mothers head.

“To stand in front of a person who is your whole world and be told you are not enough. You are not the choice. You are a shadow to the person who is your sun.” 

The book gives us three perspectives throughout, the first being Mare, the second being Cameron and the third being Evangeline who doesn’t have many chapters but features only near the end of the book. I liked Mare’s chapters as they were frequent and I was interested in her storyline. Seeing as we have only had Mare’s perspective it was hard having to adjust to new characters and seeing their thoughts. I thought Aveyard did this really well as we were able to see a wider view of the plot with one perspective being trapped by the king, one being of high power in the castle and one being outside the castle with the Scarlet guard and also a New Blood. I actually really loved Cameron’s perspective with her snarky attitude and personality. She is one of the only people who saw how big of a mess the Scarlet Guard was and was totally blunt about her feelings. I think this gave us a good insight into some of the New Bloods and how in the dark they often were despite their significance to the cause. I thought Evangeline’s chapters were quite interesting however I didn’t enjoy them as much as I was hoping and didn’t connect with her perspective. I have to say I do think some of these perspectives didn’t really help and I thought large chunks of the story were left out, especially in regards to the Scarlet Guard. Also the majority of the perspective was Mare and I felt that I was left out of the loop in regards to the other two perspectives, especially Cameron near the end of the book as we hardly heard from her.

I would have loved to hear more about Kilorn, Cal or even Farley and her surprise to how they were doing through the guard, however because Cameron wasn’t around them often we were left in the dark about them too. Due to the fact that there were so many sides to the story we couldn’t explore all the different sides to the story but would have loved a chapter on Cal, Kilorn or Farkley as are my three favourite characters. Overall, I did enjoy the book and it gave a good balance of action and suspense which was fun to read. Despite the faults it was well written and established and I hope the fourth book is an awesome finish to the series.

4.5/5 stars

Thanks for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you have read this book or any in the Red Queen series make sure to tell me how you enjoyed them in the comments below. Thanks again and we will be back soon with another post. x

4 comments

  1. Yay, another RQ fan! 😉 I would have loved Farley POVs, especially with her secret. I, too, had a difficult time sympathizing with Maven, but at least we get some perspective on him though. I cannot believe people are still shipping him and Mare.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

