Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Annike: Hey guys! I’ve seen this tag going around for a while in June because we hit the mid year. Even though it is now a little past that point, I thought it would be great to give you guys a look into our year so far and some of the books we’ve liked the most or been surprised by even! Thank you so much to Joana @ Bookneeders for the tag! Make sure you check out her post on this and the rest of her blog because it’s super amazing with some awesome reviews! Without further ado, lets get onto the Mid-Year Freak Out Tag…

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?

Annike: Hmmm… I don’t think I want to pick just one as of yet but here are some of my favourites so far:

27774758.jpg 25558608.jpg 10015384._SY540_.jpg 25411629.jpg

Zoe: I also don’t think I could pick my favourite book this year but my top four would have to be:

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 2.26.25 pm.png

2. Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2017?

Annike: This one is a little self explanatory because of the answer above, but mine is definitely A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir which is the sequel from An Ember in the Ashes. Awesome read by the way!

Zoe: I don’t read many sequels but from ones I have read it would probably be The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard.

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 2.22.53 pm.png

 3. New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To?

Annike: So I’m going to steal Joana’s answer here and say When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon and also add What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum which comes out on July 11th. Both sound great and have been on my TBR for a long time!

28458598.jpg 30199656.jpg

Zoe: I don’t generally read new books but I have been wanting to read Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson.

CodizpjWgAAban6.jpg

4. Most Anticipated Release For Second Half of 2017?

Annike: Most definitely Lucky in Love by Kasie West! This book comes out on July 25th and I love Kasie West so much so I’m really hoping this one is good!

30285562.jpg

Zoe: I would have to go with The Art of Feeling by Laura Tims. It looks like such an interesting read and it comes out on August 15th so hopefully I get to read it!

29905711.jpg

5. Biggest Disappointment?

Annike: There are actually a couple of these over the last couple months. I think I gave like all of them 3 stars and the reason they were by my biggest disappointments were because I think I was really hoping for them to be great and live up to my expectations.

29069989.jpg 25898555.jpg 25901548.jpg

I think I was expecting more of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child simply because this is like my all time favourite series but I had heard a lot of bad feedback before I started so I was a little bit ready. As for the other two, I think I was hoping they would explore their diverse themes a bit better and be a little more insightfully.

Zoe: I would have to say my biggest disappointment of the year would go to The 100 Rebellion by Kass Morgan and Split Second by Kasie West. They were both books in a series and I think they had a lot to live up to an unfortunately didn’t exceed the expectation at all.

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 2.19.10 pm.png

6. Biggest Surprise?

Annike: I am actually really unsure for this one but maybe Letters to the Lost by Iona Grey simply because I went into it having heard nothing and it was so beautiful that it reduced me to tears by the end!

25411629.jpg

Zoe: I would have to say How I lost you by Janet Gurtler was my biggest surprise so far in the 2017 as it was such an intriguing book. I expected the book to be very clique however found it so moving and a real honest and raw story.

14950168.jpg

7. Favourite New Author (Debut or New To You)?

Annike: Even though this author has been around for a while and his books are super popular I only read Jeff Zentner this year when I read Goodbye Days. I really loved the book because it was so raw and it definitely makes me want to read The Serpent King soon!

30649795.jpg

Zoe: Definitely not debut but I would have to say Kasie west in general. I hadn’t read any of her books before this year but really have gotten into her books this year. I loved Pivot Point and P.S I Like you and am currently reading by your side but don’t know how I feel about that one yet.

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 2.17.22 pm.png

8. Newest Fictional Crush?

Annike: Hmm, probably Elias from An Ember in the Ashes! I mean it makes sense cause that is like one of my favourite books so it’s gotta have my favourite characters too 🙂 I also have to include Jonah from When We Collided because he was so awesome and such a great big brother but I never felt that Vivi treated him well enough!

27774758-1.jpg 27235365.jpg

Zoe: I would have to go with Peter from the series To All the Boys I Have Loved Before by Jenny Han because I think he is the sweetest and most genuine character and loved getting to read about him and Lara Jean.

9. Newest Favourite Character?

Annike: OMG this is so hard! However if I had to pick a favourite character I would probably pick one of the characters from This Adventure Ends by Emmy Mills. I loved Sloane so much in this book because she was so sassy and funny and on this note I would probably also choose Tatum from It Started With Goodbye for the same very reason. Funny characters are always the best to read about and it helps when they are relatable.

27779275.jpg 27830287.jpg

Zoe: I don’t really know… I would usually say Lara Jean in the series To All the Boys I Have Loved Before however she isn’t really new to me as I read it last year. I am going to go with Celaena Sardothien from the book Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas as I thought she was awesome and loved her as a character throughout the story.

HeirofFireAUSCelaenaWallpaper1366x768_zpsec228263.jpg

10. Book That Made You Cry?

Annike: There has only been 1 book that made me cry this year and it has been Letters to the Lost by Iona Grey as I said above. It is such a beautiful and heartbreaking story!

Zoe: I actually haven’t cried at any books this year and I can’t even remember the last book I cried by. I think the last book might have been Breathing underwater – Sophie Hardcastle but that was so long ago.

11. Book That Made You Happy?

Annike: Probably Paper Hearts by Ali Novak simply because it is such a happy book and I loved reading about Alec and his friends as well as Felicity. Yeah so that was super cute. If I had to pick another one I would do Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda. I loved that book too because it is so fluffy and sweet.

22741571.jpg 10015384._SY540_.jpg

Zoe: Definitely P.S I Like You by Kasie West and Always and Forever Lara Jean by Jenny Han as they were both such heart-warming books and so really engaging.

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 2.13.36 pm.png

12. Favourite Book To Movie Adaptation You Saw This Year?

Annike: I don’t think I have seen any of these…? I’ve watched the TV show of Thirteen Reasons Why if that counts. However, I would love to watch Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon and Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver.

30-13-reasons-why.w710.h473.jpg

Zoe: I haven’t seenany books turn into movies that I have read so unfortunately can’t answer this one.

13. Favourite Review You’ve Written This Year?

Annike: I don’t think I have favourite reviews to be honest. But the one that you guys liked the most and had the most likes was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

Zoe: I wouldn’t say I really love any of my own reviews but I loved getting to review Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas as I loved getting your view on it and how you enjoyed it.

14. Most Beautiful Book You Bought or Received So Far This Year?

Annike: I talk about this book all the time when it comes to favourite covers! But definitely A Thousand Pieces of you by Claudia Gray. It is just so pretty, check it out!

17234658.jpg

Zoe: I know I have mentioned this book a lot but I would have to say Always and Forever Lara Jean by Jenny Han as I loved the cover so much!

30312860.jpg

15. What Books Do You Need To Read By The End of The Year?

Annike: There are just too many books I want to read by the end of the year! I want to finish the Popsugar 2017 reading challenge so there are a bunch of books that come with that but you’ll just have to wait and see what I get to!

Zoe: I don’t really know… Because I love reading series and have to wait until next year for a lot of the final books to come out I don’t really have an agenda. I would like to read the second book in the Throne of Glass series which I have been putting off but apart from that just a range of different books.

We Tag:

BookEscapade / Cayla’s Booktopia / The Stacked ShelfTwin BookmarksPotter and Beyond / Myshelf and Myself / BookLoverBlogsWhispers of Thoughts

Sorry, I actually have no idea who has done this or not or who wants to do it. Please just ignore this if you have already done it or don’t want to but if you do and we have tagged you or not please give it a go because it was a really good reflection on the last six/seven months.

23 comments

  1. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is my biggest disappointment too. I have only read the first two books of The 100 so that’s too bad to know the remaining books aren’t that great. I’m glad to see Kasie West on your list 🙂 I still have to read Pretty Little Liars but I’m glad to know the author has other books that are good enough for me to check it out 🙂 Enjoy your books in the remaining year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, girls! Oh I totally agree on The 100… The show is just so much better it was impossible not to get disappointed!
    And Elias is the perfect book boyfriend hahaha I really want him to end up with Helene but I have a feeling that won’t happen… I still need to read book two though so there’s hope xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes we love The 100 TV show so much but aren’t quite up to date yet (on season 3). The book and movie are SO different though!
      Yesss Elias is so awesome. What?! Really?! I definitely prefer Laia and have from the beginning but I don’t want to spoil the second book. All I will say is that it is amazing so definitely give it a read!
      ~ A

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh do catch up with it when you can, it gets so good! The ending was massive and I’m still recovering but I have no regrets hahaha
        Yup, I didn’t like Laia that much… I think she still has a long way to go and find that Helene suits Elias personality a bit more. Laia kind of holds him back, in my opinion, and I don’t understand why they’re attracted to each other. Felt very instalovey to me… But to each his own! 😊
        Oh I definitely plan to, it’s just been hard with all the books I want to read x_x

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yeah definitely! Has it had its final season or is it still going?
          Yeah it was a bit of a complicated love triangle there because neither character was unlikable to me! Like there wasn’t an enemy and Helene obviously loved Elias!!
          Yeah of course, that is always the way isn’t it!! Haha

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Yeah, the forth season is over so now we have to wait for next year… 😭 To say I’m going through a show hangover is an understatement.
          There’s more than just a love triangle hahaha It was just too much, too soon, and I didn’t like it. But well, I hope it gets better in book two, even if my ship doesn’t sail xD Helene will always be my favorite 😛

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Ooh well I’m super excited to get up to that point cause the show is getting really good!
          Haha yeah probably! But I loved the book so much that I might have overlooked that… yeah I think that changes a little next book – well maybe not so much haha.
          ~ A

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! Thank you for the tag!

    It’s funny because I’ve been meaning to read The 100 and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, but I’ve heard mixed reviews on both.

    I still have to read Glass Sword and Stone of Glass, and it’s encouraging to see that it made your “Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?”

    Thanks again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and your welcome!
      Yeah, they are both really popular books just maybe fell a little short for our liking but I suggest you definitely still give them a go!
      And yes definitely give Glass Sword and Throne of Glass a read cause they are amazing!
      ~ A and Z

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

