Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

Hey guys its Zoe back with a review on a book I just got in the mail and was so excited to read I read in like 2 days, Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han. Sorry I haven’t done a review in a while, I kept reading books Annike had already reviewed so didn’t want to double up on the same book, anyway, this one she thankfully hasn’t read, so here we go:

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbour, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?

When I first got this book I was absolutely obsessed with the cover and really wanted to start it right away. This is the third book of the popular trilogy, To All the Boy’s I’ve Loved Before, and seeing as I have absolutely loved the other two books I was so eager to get started with this one. I think this book was a perfect conclusion to the series and filled me with warmth and nostalgia. Such a well written story and couldn’t have been wrapped up better so big thumbs up to Jenny Han.

I think this book was so well developed concluded. I thought Lara Jean was as good as ever and I was happy that her personality was so strong and stayed really present throughout the books and she didn’t loose herself. I think Lara Jean is one of the most genuine characters ever and has such a kind heart and loving personality, and the fact that she was quirky and different was really fun to read. For a book with not a lot going on it really kept me captivated and engaged throughout the story. I loved getting to see how Lara Jean would cope with uncertainty and develop through difficulties. Additionally on my love of the characters I thought Peter was also amazing and had such a good personality in contrast to that of Lara Jean. I loved how both Lara and Peter acted with one another and was totally rooting for them throughout the story. I think this series has some of the cutest, genuine and funny characters, with Kitty, Peter and Kriss making me laugh out loud on several occasions.

“Nothing good happens after two a.m. Unless you happen to be a fan of watching people play flip cup for hours on end. Not me. No, I’d much prefer to be in my flannel pyjamas with a cup of Night-Night tea and a book, thank you very much.” 

I think one of the reasons I loved this book and the series was that it focuses largely on Family and having that family connection which I love. I think Lara Jean’s dad is so amazing and has raised three beautiful daughters much to his credit. I thought Kitty was adorable as always and was a ball of energy and a bit of a brat in the best possible way. She always found a way of beavering her way into the action and was really funny throughout the story. One of the only things I didn’t enjoy about this book was Margot. I know she was meant to be causing drama with the whole Trina business (you will know what I mean if you have read it), but I think she was a bit out of line sometimes and I get that she felt a bit left out, but her character was a bit annoying throughout the book. I didn’t particularly like her in the previous books but her character just seemed like a bit of a jerk throughout the story. Also Peter’s mum was annoying. It is a real coming of age story and moving on from a chapter of your life which was so heart warming and heart breaking at the same time as you got to see Lara Jean blossom and come into her own but it was hard saying goodbye to all the characters we got to know so well. There are so many cute moments, my favourite having to be Lara Jean’s birthday amongst others but I don’t want to give away any spoilers!

If you haven’t read this book or the series I would highly recommend picking it up and giving it a go. At the beginning I was a bit sceptical on wether I would like it but immediately got sucked in to the Song Girls world and loved reading every word. It is such a light-hearted, heart warming story with so much to love and a great conclusion to the series. If you have read this book or any of the books make sure to tell me how you liked it! I love getting other people’s views on books I love so make sure to comment if you have read it. Thank you so much for reading. I hope you are having a good week and we will be back with another post soon. x

5/5 STARS

8 comments

  1. Family was one of my fave things about this trilogy! I adore LJ and Kitty, I wouldn’t say no to a spin off book staring Kitty XD I didn’t love this book as much as I hoped I would (I think I hyped myself too much) but it was a good conclusion, Great review ❤

    Like

  2. I just finished reading “Always and Forever, Lara Jean’ and it held so much melancholy for me – I mean it’s the last book in the series, and Lara Jean reminisces on the past as she faces so much change in her life… all I can do is sigh.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, it’s taking me back.. sigh 😉

    Like

  3. Thanks for the review. I haven’t heard of this author before. I think you should go ahead and review books that your sister has done – it would be interesting to see what you agree on and what you don’t!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

