June Wrap Up ~ 2017

Annike: Hey guys, sorry that it is already into July and we are just putting up our June wrap up but better now than never, right?! Today we just wanted to let you know some of the books that we have read this month and what we thought of them so take a look!

Annike’s Books:

  1. Hitlers Daughter by Jackie French ~ 2 stars
  2. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion ~ 4 stars
  3. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli ~ 4 stars
  4. Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick ~ 3 stars
  5. The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion ~ 3 stars
  6. Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen ~ 3 stars
  7. Lost in the Jungle by Yossi Ghinsberg ~ 2 stars

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 10.14.50 am.png

Favourite Book: This month wasn’t all that good for enjoying the books I read and even though there were a few good ones, none were particular standouts. My favourite book this month had to be The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion simply because it had such an original voice and storyline. Interestingly, this books is not one of my common reads as it involves a much older age group and plot but it was a beautiful read.

Least Favourite Book: The books I liked the least this month would have to be Hitler’s Daughter by Jackie French. I actually listened to this book and thought it was interesting that the idea was a story within a story but it came off a little childish and hard to like any of the characters.

Favourite Ending: Even though this was not one of my favourite reads of the month, I can’t deny the amazing ending of Lost in the Jungle by Yossi Ghinsberg. The reason that it was so bittersweet also was because it is a true story and Yossi is recounting his survival story in the jungle. Also, it was very mysterious… and I will say no more 🙂

Favourite CoverI don’t think any of the covers of these books were particularly amazing but if I had to pick my favourite I would probably go with Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick and it’s cute cover. I love Anna Kendrick from the movies I’ve seen with her in them and while the storyline of the book wasn’t that driving, it discussed some really good topics.

Biggest Disappointment: I do have to say, that while this book was one of my favourites for the month, I think that The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli didn’t reach my expectations after all. I had heard so so many good things about this book before reading it as well as adoring Simon vs The Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli so while to no means it was bad, I did think it was going to be better.

Other: I didn’t want to categorise my last two reads: The Rosie Effect and Optimists Die First, because they didn’t really fit anywhere in particular. The Rosie Effect was the second book from The Rosie Project so it was great to get to revisit the voice and character of Don however it wasn’t in my opinion as good as the former. Optimists Die First was also okay, however it seemed a bit predictable and the characters were a little 2 dimensional. I will put a review up on that one soon hopefully!

Zoe’s Books:

  1. P.S I like you by Kasie West ~ 4 stars
  2. Split Second by Kasie West ~ 3 stars
  3. Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han ~ 5 stars

Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 9.59.33 pm.png

Favourite Book: Unfortunately I only got through 3 books this month which is a bit disappointing but out of my three books I had a lot of fun reading them all. As shown from the star ratings, my favourite book of the month would have to go to Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han. I had been waiting to read this book since last year and this one didn’t disappoint. It was such a sweet, loving, heart-warming story and wrapped up the To The Boys I Have Loved Before series incredibly well. I will be putting up a review on this book very soon so if you are wanting to read the series or want to see what I loved about it make sure to keep an eye out!

Least Favourite Book: Out of the three books I actually really enjoyed all of them but unfortunately Split Second by Kasie West didn’t really live up to the hype I was expecting. This book actually took me around a month to finish because I never got really engaged in the story which is disappointing. I through the story line was interesting but even though I loved the first one, this one just wasn’t as good.

Favourite Premise: This one is pretty hard to categorise only because I don’t really know what it was best for, but P.S I Like You By Kasie West was such a cute, loving book alike Always and Forever, Lara Jean. The reason I am placing it in favourite premise is that I loved the idea of the story and when I read it really wanted to read it because I love the idea behind it. This isn’t saying that I didn’t like it because I do believe the actual story lived up to the premise, but if I were to place it in one category this would have to be it:)

Zoë: Thank you so much for reading guys. Hope you all had an awesome June and read lots of book (more than I did probably). If you have read any of the book above or they are on your TBR list for July or the future, make sure to leave a comment below. Have a good week and we will be back with another post soon (probably a July TBR), so stay tuned. x

2 comments

Leave a Reply

