Down The TBR Hole (Annike)

Annike: Hey guys, so this post has been around for a while now but only recently did I realise that I really started wanting to do it and also found that it is hosted by Lia @ Lost in a Story, who I absolutely love as a blogger! So, without further ado let’s get into this!

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?
  1. The Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

22692740.jpgThe first thing you’re going to want to know about me is: Am I a boy, or am I a girl?

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. The thing is…Riley isn’t exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in uber-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley’s so-called “normal” life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it’s REALLY like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley’s starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley’s real identity, threatening exposure. Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

I have heard really good things about this book and it seems to diverse and very unique which is definitely a plus. I am yet to read a book that discusses gender fluidity but am really keen to keep my horizons open to all characters and plots.

Verdict: KEEP

2. North of Beautiful by Justina Chen

3238153.jpgAs he continued to stare, I wanted to point to my cheek and remind him, But you were the one who wanted this, remember? You’re the one who asked-and I repeat-Why not fix your face?
It’s hard not to notice Terra Cooper.
She’s tall, blond, and has an enviable body. But with one turn of her cheek, all people notice is her unmistakably “flawed” face. Terra secretly plans to leave her stifling small town in the Northwest and escape to an East Coast college, but gets pushed off-course by her controlling father. When an unexpected collision puts Terra directly in Jacob’s path, the handsome but quirky Goth boy immediately challenges her assumptions about herself and her life, and she is forced in yet another direction. With her carefully laid plans disrupted, will Terra be able to find her true path?

I actually have read a number of books that focus on the topic of beauty and what it is like for people who may be marred by a scar or an injury etc. I don’t really remember adding this book to my TBR but it doesn’t sound as enticing as I remember.

Verdict: GO

3. Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

18296030.jpgSamantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone saidSam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

Not sure about this book, I actually have it as an ebook but while it used to sound interesting, now it sounds rather boring to me. That being said, it does have quite good reviews on Goodreads…

Verdict: GO

4. What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

30199656.jpgKIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.
DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

This book sounds oddly interesting because I always love reading about relationships between people who couldn’t be less alike. I also really loved Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum!

Verdict: KEEP

5. More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer

34236194.jpgRev Fletcher is battling the demons of his past. But with loving adoptive parents by his side, he’s managed to keep them at bay…until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back.

Emma Blue spends her time perfecting the computer game she built from scratch, rather than facing her parents’ crumbling marriage. She can solve any problem with the right code, but when an online troll’s harassment escalates, she’s truly afraid.

When Rev and Emma meet, they both long to lift the burden of their secrets and bond instantly over their shared turmoil. But when their situations turn dangerous, their trust in each other will be tested in ways they never expected. This must-read story will once again have readers falling for Brigid Kemmerer’s emotional storytelling.

This book sounds really similar to the one above as well as Brigid Kemmerer’s other story – Letters to the Lost which I really like. It also does follow the story of one of the characters from that book as a kind of spin off novel. Not sure whether it will live up to my standards but I feel like it’ll either be really good or really bad. It comes out next March however, so i’ve got a little wait!

Verdict: KEEP

Annike: So there we have it! I ended up keeping 3 and getting rid of 2 but it was also really interesting to see some of the books that I’ve added to my TBR in the past cause I can’t remember many of them! Loved this post, it was so fun to do 🙂

4 comments

  1. Yay! You joined! That’s awesome! I had heard of The Symptoms of Being Human before but the cover really put me off (it reminded me of Er Ist Wieder Da, the book/movie about Hitler coming back to life, and I hated the movie), so I never read the synopsis, but now I’m intrigued! I’m going to add it to my tbr! What To Say Next also sounds really interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

