Pivot Point by Kasie West Review

Hi guys, I’m sorry I haven’t posted a review in SO long (its literally been 2 months), but I’m back today reviewing a book I loved which I read earlier this month! So without further ado lets get into it:

Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier…

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through… and who she can’t live without.

From the very first chapter I read of this book I knew I was going to enjoy it. It is such a captivating books and really draws you in straight away. Annike recommend this book to me and what I loved the most was getting to read the different sides of the future which she was looking into and having the two sides overlapping in some parts was so interesting. Whenever I finished a chapter I had to keep reading as they were always left on a cliff hanger which meant I had to read the different perspective before getting back to the first one. I really liked getting to swap between Addie living two different lives and seeing which one I would choose and I think it is really cool getting to see which path she eventually went with and why. I do think that I preferred the chapters she had when she moved outside of the compound as it was so different to what she had experienced and therefore we were immersed into a whole new life and got to watch her navigate through a new world rather than one she already knew.

“I don’t care when people think I’m an antisocial, controlling bookworm because that’s what I am. It’s when they interpret me wrong that I have a problem.”

In regards to the characters, I loved most of them, especially Trevor. He was a boy who lived in the ‘Norm world’ which I thought was lovely and the relation he had with the compound is really cool to navigate as we know things which the characters don’t. I liked most of the characters in the Norm world, however we weren’t introduced too much to some of the minor characters so I didn’t get to know them as much. In regards to the compound I didn’t really like Addie’s best friend, and we weren’t introduced too much to many other characters apart from from Duke (quarter back) in her compound life. I didn’t connect as much to Laila (Addie’s BFF) as I would have hoped and I think that if she was developed a bit better it would have made me wanted Addie to stay in the compound more as she would have someone to stay for. I feel like I was more positioned toward the ‘Norm world’ as she seemed to have better personality in this version.

I really enjoyed reading about all the different “superpowers” which they had in the compound as it was fun to see how they differed and added a bit more of a change from the classic contemporary book. In regards to the ending, I know why she chose what she did but I didn’t necessarily agree with it because there could have been ways to change either path. I was so conflicted into which path she was going to choose until the ‘drastic measure’ occurs and not being critical but I do think some of it was over exaggerated and the ending got a bit confusing and complicated. Despite this it was clever and the whole plot fit together really well and was all resolved.

I would definitely recommend everyone pick up this book as it is a really engaging book and I guarantee you will want to keep reading if you do start it. I think merely the choice she has it really captivating as you are waiting to see which future she chooses and thankfully she does pick a path, it’s not like one of those books where something totally different happens which is good.

Let me know if you have read this or want to read this in the comments below as I would love to hear from you all. Hope you are having a lovely week and I will be back hopefully soon with another post (possibly the second book!). Thank you so much for reading! x

Star Rating: 4.5/5

KWPP.png

15 comments

Leave a Reply

