Letters to the Lost by Iona Grey

Annike: Hey guys, sorry it’s been a little while since our last post went up! It’s really busy a lot of the time now but I’m trying my best to get reviews up from books I’m enjoying and hopefully Zoe will be back soon 🙂 Today I’m here with a review on another book I had on my TBR this month. it is part of the historical fiction genre and is called Letters to the Lost. I absolutely adored this book so give the review a look and I hope it appeals to you too.25411629.jpg

1943, in the ruins of Blitzed London…
Stella Thorne and Dan Rosinski meet by chance and fall in love by accident. Theirs is a reluctant, unstoppable affair in which all the odds are stacked against them: she is newly married, and he is an American bomber pilot whose chance of survival is just one in five.

… He promised to love her forever
Seventy years later Dan makes one final attempt to find the girl he has never forgotten, and sends a letter to the house where they shared a brief yet perfect happiness. But Stella has gone, and the letter is opened by Jess, a young girl hiding from problems of her own. And as Jess reads Dan’s words, she is captivated by the story of a love affair that burned so bright and dimmed too soon. Can she help Dan find Stella before it is too late? Now forever is finally running out.

One of the really cool things about this book to begin with was the idea that the story was set over 2 different time periods, one in 1943/44 in the war and another in 2011 which is much closer to the present. Both of the time periods had different characters but in many ways there were lot of similarities between both. Stella, who was the main character from the war period was struggling in a marriage of which had no proper foundation. She and her best friend had been raised in a home without their parents and all she was really looking for was stability, love and family.

On the other hand their was Jess, who was a girl running away from an abusive relationship and camping in an old abandoned house as she tried to get back on her feet. Jess ended up moving into a house that used to be Stella’s and finding a number of letters that were written to Stella from an affair she had during the war while her husband was away fighting.

I found that through the letters from Dan to Stella as well as the passages we had from the war time, I just loved the connection between the two of them. The letters were a great basis of their love for one another but the insight we had into their meeting and then the months following this were even better. I found it so effective to have Dan in the present as well because I could see the kind and loving young man in the older version of Dan through his messages to Jess.

Letters to the Lost was written so very beautifully and I have to give Iona Grey credit for such a beautiful read. Everything was descriptive and well flowing. The story was well paced and had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. I also loved how both of the era’s had a romantic story and from Jess’s time, Will was such a likeable character who you also got to follow along his journey.

I thought it was so creative how the story skipped from not only time periods but also character perspectives. This meant that we had sections from Will, Jess, Stella and Dan. As the story progressed it just got better and better and ended up being a really exciting book where I was waiting and waiting for the secrets to be revealed. One of the things that did happen was we were kept in the dark a lot when the perspectives and times jumped around and this was really clever on Grey’s part to keep readers on the edge of their seat.

Overall, this book was such a beautiful read. It literally had me like sobbing for the last 50 pages or so and it had just such a powerful ending. The writing and all the dialogue was really well written and everything just came together so well. I was actually really disappointed for the book to finish but I can eagerly recommend it to like everyone! Please please please go and pick this one up. I don’t usually read historical fiction but after this I would definitely consider picking up a few more. Anyways that is all. We will hopefully be back sooner than last time. Enjoy the week 🙂

6 comments

  1. Hello! I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful week.

    ~Breeny

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Breeny! Thanks for reaching out to us and letting us know about your blog. It’s so nice when new bloggers introduce themselves 🙂
      I’m glad you like our blog so far and as an answer to your question, I think that as a tip for new bloggers it is important to just totally immerse yourself into the community, like and comment on people’s posts and mostly just get your name out there! If you do all that and really enjoy what you are doing you’ll be sure to gain more readers and just expand your blog.
      I just checked out your blog and loved the posts there so far so have followed you. Hope to see some more really good posts in the future and hope to keep seeing you around the community 🙂
      ~ A

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This seems like a great read – I’ll be sure to try it out! I’m thinking about reading The Fault In Our Stars by John Green – any thoughts?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

