April Read ~ 2017

Annike: Hey guys! So I refuse to believe that we are already at the end of April. This month has been super hectic and we got pretty busy towards the end of the month – hence the lack of activity here on Twin Tales. Anyways, I did manage to read a LOT of books this month cause we were on school holidays. However, Zoe only managed to get to one – which was A Torch Against the Night – so won’t be joining me today for the April Wrap Up/Read. Anyways, so even though it is just me this month let’s get onto it!

Annike’s Books

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – 4 stars
  2. Skinny by Ibi Kaslik – 2 stars
  3. Six Months Later by Natalie D. Richards – 4 stars
  4. Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes – 3 stars
  5. Switching Gears by Chantelle Sedgwick – 2.5 stars
  6. Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams – 4 stars
  7. Paper Hearts by Ali Novak – 4 stars
  8. Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers – 3.5 stars
  9. Any Boy but You by Julie Hammerle – 2.5 stars
  10. Does My Head Look Big in This? by Randa Abdel-Fattah – 2 stars
  11. None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio – 3 stars
  12. Simon vs The Homo Sapien Agenda by Becky Albertalli – 5 stars
  13. A Week of Mondays by Jessica Brody – 3.5 stars

Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 5.14.46 pm.png

Favourite Book: I did manage to give 1 book a 5 stars rating this month and it ended up being Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. Going into it I had really low expectations and even though I had seen it around I never really thought about reading it. However, after reading it I can say that it was such an enjoyable book. it was so funny and cute and just perfect in so many ways with a great selection of characters so I would definitely recommend it. I’ll probably review this one at some point so let me know if you’d like a review on it!

Least Favourite Book: I actually reread Skinny by Ibi Kaslik this month but once again it definitely was not a favourite. I ended up giving it a 2 stars because I thought it had interesting themes but overall, it was kind of disturbing and I didn’t really like either of the sisters by the end.

Favourite Ending: I am a huge sucker for happy endings so I am going to have to go with Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams. I really loved this story and I did review it earlier in the month. It was super cute and adorable and the epilogue was such a great way to end it!

Favourite Premise: Of the books I read this month I think Six Months Later by Natalie D. Richards was the book with my favourite premise. I linked the Goodreads page up above cause the blurb is super enticing and I thought it was a really cool mystery book that had an interesting premise.

Best Characters/Development: Definitely Paper Hearts by Ali Novak. The reason I love the characters and development in this book is because all the characters are so unique and really fun to get to know. I loved Alec and Stella’s best friends. I think that the band in general have such a fun loving feel and while The Heartbreakers probably captures the band more this once was really good too as a second book.

Favourite Cover: I really love the cover of A Week of Mondays by Jessica Brody. I just love the photo strip on the cover and the book in general was pretty good too! I mean, I think I was expecting a little more and to become a bit more hooked but it was an enjoyable book with a good premise.

Biggest Disappointment: I’ve had Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers on my TBR for such a long time so when I finally got my hands on it I was super excited to read about a girl who was deaf and ended up joining a band for tour. Unfortunately, I just couldn’t find myself liking the main characters or the relationship between her and Jace. It was a good read to some extent but just a mere 3 stars and I was expecting so much more!

Other: Of course I have to mention a couple of the others! I really loved reading The Book Thief this month. I ended up listening to most of it as an audiobook but I really loved it and while it took me a while it was a really good read. Another book I listened to was Does my Head Look Big in This? which was a really interesting book that gave me a look at Muslim Australians but at the same time I found it hard to really get into the writing style. And lastly, even though there are a couple more books I read I wanted to mention None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio which was a book I read and reviewed earlier this week. It was a really interesting and educational book about being intersex and while the characters weren’t my favourite it was a good overall read.

Annike: Anyways guys, that is all from me today! Maybe it’s a good thing that Zoe didn’t read too many books this month cause I read enough for both of us 🙂 Let me know if you’ve read any of these books cause I’d love to hear your opinions on them all. Enjoy the end of the week and we will be back very soon hopefully!

7 comments

  1. I’m intrigued by the premise of None of the Above, by I.W. Gregorio. I’ll have to look into it. Also, I read the first few pages of Skinny and think that it’s a fairly good book so far. But I can definitely see how you find it disturbing. Thanks for sharing your reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I would definitely recommend it – very interesting and educational book! I definitely have to agree with that, I have to give it credit for being a very well written book just quite disturbing as you said and that always makes books hard to enjoy! Thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi! Very interesting! I really want to read The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, I’ve heard that it’s a touching story and also I would be great to read before reading All the Light We Cannot See.
      Greetings from Galicia (Spain).

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

