None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio

Annike: Hey guys! Sorry it’s been a little while since we put up a review however I have been reading a lot of books lately but just haven’t gotten around to reviewing them all. On that note, today I want to give you my review on None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio which is a book I hadn’t really had on my TBR or seen very much before I picked it up but it ended up being just a really educational and enjoyable read.

22896551What if everything you knew about yourself changed in an instant?

When Kristin Lattimer is voted homecoming queen, it seems like another piece of her ideal life has fallen into place. She’s a champion hurdler with a full scholarship to college and she’s madly in love with her boyfriend. In fact, she’s decided that she’s ready to take things to the next level with him.

But Kristin’s first time isn’t the perfect moment she’s planned—something is very wrong. A visit to the doctor reveals the truth: Kristin is intersex, which means that though she outwardly looks like a girl, she has male chromosomes, not to mention boy “parts.”
Dealing with her body is difficult enough, but when her diagnosis is leaked to the whole school, Kristin’s entire identity is thrown into question. As her world unravels, can she come to terms with her new self?

So ultimately, this book is focused on Kristin, who is a teenage girl simply going about life as one of the popular girls in her school, a successful track star and surrounding by a strong group of friends. I quite liked Kristin overall as a character but because she herself had to question a lot about her gender identity it was hard to really develop a sense of understanding towards her.

The main thing about this book that really made it worth the while was how informative it was as a story. Personally, I didn’t really know much about being intersex before I read the book but through Kristin’s story I found that it was really easy to come to an understanding. And a lot of this knowledge came through the doctor’s appointments that Kristin had, research in the family and therapy sessions. The story was really authentic and real and for such a topic that isn’t really represented enough this was really important and valued.

It was interesting to read about how even though Kristin hadn’t changed after her diagnosis, the perception of the people around her in regards to her gender identity had changed. The kids at her school were increasingly cruel and it was really heartbreaking to read about the things that Kristin was forced to endure. Despite this, I found that some of the book was a bit dramatised and this made it a little unbelievable. The bit of romance at the end was in my opinion not well developed at all and the ending just seemed a bit unrealistic and didn’t really leave me with all that much clarity. I mean while I liked Darren as a character, he had a very limited and minimal introduction and it was only at like 75% through the story did Kristin have any interaction with him.

Overall, I think that while this book was a really great eye opener and I definitely give the author a lot of praise for writing about such a diverse topic. However I did feel a bit removed from the characters and didn’t connect as much as I would have liked to. Kritin’s former boyfriend and best friends were simply not there for her when she needed the support and I would have liked a bit of a more concrete ending. Anyways, I would definitely recommend it, it’s a really beautiful story that has really valuable information in it.

3/5 stars

5 comments

Leave a Reply

