Burn, Rewrite, Reread Book Tag

Annike: Hey guys, recently we were tagged in the Burn, Rewrite, Reread tag by Book Princess Reviews. Mandy is one of my all time favourite bloggers so definitely go and check out her blog. Thank you so much for the tag, i’ve been wanting to do this one for ages 🙂

THE RULES

  • Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option on your Goodreads’ Read shelf.).
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread (a lot like Kiss, Marry, Kill).
  • Repeat until you completed three rounds (or six). – (We’ll do three each)

Round 1: Annike

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 11.22.02 am.png

Burn: Sorry to say, but I’d probably have to burn The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner. I read it a couple years ago and it was the kind of book that just ended up really boring me… so yeah.

Rewrite: I’d rewrite Just Like Fate by Cat Patrick and Suzanne Young. I actually really liked this book cause it was super cute and interesting but I found it kind of confusing at points so I’d rewrite it a bit clearer with more distinctions between the changes that happen after Caroline makes her decision that the book is centred around. I think I’d also change the ending because I wasn’t satisfied with that after reading the whole book.

Reread: I would definitely want to reread How I Lost You by Janet Gurtler because I absolutely adored that book. I loved getting to read about the best friends and all of the dynamics in their relationship and its been a couple years since I read it so I would love to get around to it again!

Round 2: Zoe

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 12.37.14 pm.png

Burn: Seeing as the other 2 books I gave 5 stars; I am going to have to burn Faceless. I found this book rather confronting and disturbing. I thought the concept was really deep however I didn’t connect with any of the characters and didn’t find it an enjoyable read.

Re-write: I would have to say I would re-write Breathing Underwater by Sophie Hardcastle. I really loved this book and it was so sad and so easy to connect to as it was about twins but if I were to re-write it I would focus it a bit more about loss and getting through this loss rather than drowning it in.

Re-read: I would have to re-read P.S I Still Love you by Jenny Han. I rated this book as my favourite for 2016 and would still stand by this, but would love to re-read it to see if I enjoy it as much the second time around!

Round 3: Annike

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 4.47.37 pm.png

Burn: I would have to Burn Side Effects may Vary by Julie Murphy. I found this premise really interesting as it looked at the life of a girl in the aftermath of cancer rather than through the journey but I didn’t really like the MC at all and the book either bored me or felt really unbelievable.

Rewrite: I would have to rewrite A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern because while I really enjoyed this story I felt that it would have been better to really like the main character and be able to leanr more from her disability. I think the book had a lot of promise so it might have been better to rewrite than anything else.

Reread: I am a huge fan of Morgan Matson and Since You’ve Been Gone was the first one of her books that I read. I am actually really keen on rereading this book as its been a couple years and I definitely loved Emily and Frank as well as the whole idea.

Round 4: Zoe

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 12.40.46 pm.png

Burn: Out of these 3 book I would have to burn the Sister Pact by Stacie Ramey. When I first picked it up I thought it would be about grief and acceptance however when I got into it all it really talked about was drugs and how destroyed you can become when you lose someone. I think it dealt with a lot of tough issues but wasn’t my favourite book

Re-write: I would have to say I would re-write Frayed by Tara Terzis to purely change the ending only because I really didn’t enjoy the end and found it really weird. I was actually really engaged in the beginning of the book but didn’t like the ending.

Re-read. I would definitely have to re-read The Selection by Kiera Cass as I absolutely loved this book and would love to read it again to see if I enjoy it as much.

Round 5: Annike

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 4.55.38 pm.png

Burn: Despite genuinely liking this book I think I’d have to burn The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak. I think it probably has the weakest plot and premise of the three books and while it was good it was a bit too fluffy for my taste.

Rewrite: Even though The List is probably my least favourite book of the three I really loved the premise of this book and I think if it was executed well it could have been a really promising read. I loved the idea of looking into how the  list may have effected different people but I found it too hard to get to know or like any of the characters in the story.

Reread: I’d have to reread Everything that Makes you by Moriah McStay as this book had a really interesting storyline very similar to Just Like Fate, which I have above. It’s been a little while since I read it but it was a really interesting read so that could definitely be a possibility.

Round 6: Zoe

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 12.35.41 pm.png

Burn: I’m very sorry to the hundreds of people who loved this book, but I would have to Burn Fangirl as I just didn’t really enjoy it as couldn’t see myself re-writing or re-reading this book.

Re-write: I would re-write Never Never Part 3. I thought this book was really good, however the ending was a letdown to not only me but a lot of people so I think I would re-write the ending to give the series a better finish.

Re-read: Definitely have to go with Reboot. I actually loved this book and the series and would definitely re-read it again as I have forgot a lot of it since I read it ages ago.

Zoe: So that is a wrap on the burn, re-write and re-read book tag. Because this tag has been going around for a while we have decided not to tag anyone but let you tag yourselves. For anyone who is reading this and would like to give this tag a go (it’s really fun so I urge you to) please do and you can say we have tagged you because technically we have tag everyone:) If you have read any of the books mentioned above and agree or disagree with our choices make sure to comment down below and tell us your thoughts. Thanks for reading and we will be back with another post soon. x

11 comments

  1. Ooooh, this was so much fun to read your tag, ladies! 😀 If you’re going to re-read The Selection, then I really have to pick it up. It looks so much fun. 😀 And I agree about The Summer of Letting Go. I ended up DNFing that as well. It was just too boring. Wonderful post, ladies, and thank you for the kind words!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that this tag is doing the rounds again!
    I also enjoyed The Selection, although I know some didn’t and it has people divided a bit.
    Oh no! Not Fangirl 😦
    Ah well, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy it. I found it slow to start, but the characters warmed on me after a while.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

