March Read ~ 2017

Annike: Hey guys, we are finally at the end of March and can I say that this has been a massive month! You may or may not have noticed but Zoe and I have been a little bit less frequent at posting this month due to all the exams going on at school. However, these are pretty much all over now and we will be on school holidays for a chunk of next month so hopefully we’ll have some great new content next month! Anyways, here is a look into the month of March and the books we read.

Annike’s Books

  1. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir – 5 stars
  2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – 4 stars
  3. A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray – 4 stars
  4. Love, Lucas by Chantelle Sedgwick – 3 stars
  5. Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner – 5 stars

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 9.44.02 pm.png

Favourite Book: My favourite book this month was a really close one because it’s been awhile since I’ve read a 5 star book but I had 2 this month. However I think I’ll have to give this to A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir because it was just such an amazing book that gave me all the feels and has left me NEEDING the next one!

Favourite Premise: Hands down Goodbye Days by Jeff Zetner. This book is one of my very favourite books of the year so far and it was just a book that had a little bit of everything. The premise of the main character ‘killing’ his three best friends reeled me in straight away as well as the idea that such a text could be responsible for the death of three teenage boys. The characters in this book were all so amazing and the whole idea behind it all was really thought provoking. Surprisingly, it didn’t make me cry but it definitely made me think and I should definitely review it next month!

Best Characters/Development: I really liked the character in A Court of Thorns and Roses and thought they were all really well developed and fleshed out. I loved Feyre because she was so strong and independent despite the rash decision making she sometimes made. And I really liked Tamlin as well as the whole development of the storyline and setting. While it was outside my normal comfort zone it ended up delivering and I am excited for the next book which I actually have in my possession now. Yay 🙂

Favourite Cover: As the last book of a series full of such beautiful covers i;d have to give my favourite cover to A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray. It has a gorgeous look as well as a great storyline and there is something so satisfying about finishing series or trilogies because it takes much more effort to get through them all as well as concentration.

Biggest Disappointment: The biggest disappointment book of this month was definitely Love, Lucas by Chantelle Sedgwick. Although it was q really cute book I was hoping for something a little more hard hitting like I outlined in my review. So while it wasn’t a bad book and I would still recommend it, this was probably the biggest let down after I had such high expectations.

 

Zoe’s Books

  1. Forget Me Not by Carolee Dean – 2.5 stars
  2. Replica by Lauren Oliver – 4 stars
  3. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – 5 stars

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 9.53.17 pm.png

Favourite book: My favourite book this month was clearly An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. Annike recommended this as I absolutely loved it. I love the characters and all the plot and found myself so engrossed in the story. I loved getting to watch both of the main perspectives evolve and was so glad I decided to give it a go. Annike also did a review on this book I think it was last month so make sure to check that out:)

Least Favourite Book: Alike last month’s least favourite book I am going for Forget Me Not by Carolee Dean which was once again structured in like a poem format which I think I am going to steer clear of seeing as I haven’t really enjoyed the ones I have read so far. I have to say despite the extremely weird plot and me having no idea what was happening in some parts, it was very interesting and I found myself interested at the way the main character really processed everything. Weird…

Favourite premise: I have chosen this category for my last book which was Replica by Lauren Oliver. I loved the premise of the book. When I picked it up in January I thought it was amazing and I loved the idea behind the whole book. I did do a full review on this book a couple of days ago so if you want to know more about it I have talked about what I liked and what I didn’t, but I did really enjoy this book and I am glad it lived up to its cool premise.

 

Overall, I didn’t have a very good month as I only finished 3 book however I did enjoy them. Hopefully next month I will have read a couple more seeing as we are going into holidays:) Hope you have all had a fantastic March and read lots. x

11 comments

  1. Hi! I’ve only just started reading your blog – it’s great. I’ve followed you and I think you should keep going with it – it’s amazing! I love books and it’s awesome to know someone else does too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just started re-reading A Court of Thorns and Roses in anticipation of A Court of Wings and Ruin! I’m so excited for you to read A Court of Mist and Fury, I loved it so much more than ACOTAR.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just finished Replica as well. I liked it well enough, but I felt like the purpose of it was more to set up for the next book in the series and didn’t really offer too much by itself. I adore the An Ember in the Ashes series, I hype it up all of the time, so I’m glad to see that you both are enjoying it! I just bought Goodbye Days (hearing amazing things) and can’t wait to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

