Replica by Lauren Oliver

Hey guys it’s Zoë here today after like a month of posting, so sorry, but I have finally finished Replica by Lauren Oliver! This book has been on my TBR list since January and I have been reading it since then, on and off, so I am so glad I finally finished it and wanted to do a quick review on it, so here we go…

Lyra

From a distance, the Haven Institute, tucked away on a private island off the coast of Florida, looks serene and even beautiful. But up close the locked doors, military guards, and biohazard suits tell a different story. In truth, it is a clandestine research facility where thousands of replicas, or human models, are born, raised, and observed. But when a surprise attack is launched on Haven, two of its young experimental subjects—Lyra, or 24, and the boy known only as 72—manage to escape. As they make their way through a new and menacing environment, they meet a stranger named Gemma, who has embarked on a perilous quest of her own. And as Lyra tries to understand Haven’s purpose, she uncovers earth-shattering secrets that will change the lives of both girls.

Gemma

Gemma has been in and out of hospitals her whole life. A sickly child, she has grown into a lonely adolescent whose life is circumscribed by home, school, and her best friend, April. But after she is nearly abducted by a stranger claiming to know her, Gemma starts to investigate her family’s past and discovers her father’s mysterious connection to the secretive Haven research facility. Hungry for answers, she travels to Florida, only to stumble upon two human models, or replicas, 24 and 72—and a completely new set of questions. As Gemma tries to unravel the mysteries of Haven, she learns terrible truths about herself and her family that will threaten to destroy everything she loves.

While the stories of Gemma and Lyra mirror each other, each contains revelations critically important to the other story. Their narratives can be read separately or in alternating chapters.

When I first saw this book I was really interested in the alternating perspectives and sides to the story. I haven’t read a book with 2 perspectives which you can read separately and then they kinda join together when you read the second perspective so I decided I would read it that way. I thought Lauren Oliver did a really good job of connecting the 2 sides but not giving away major parts of the other persons story which was really successful.

Lyra:

Overview: I started with this half of the story in January which seems like so long ago now. I really loved Lyra’s perspective as it was super engaging from the first chapter. I liked Lyra’s personality and how she was so eager to learn new things despite what she was taught. I think because Lyra didn’t know a lot about the world we live in made her really interesting and how she has been cut off from the rest of society by living in Haven was cool to read about.

Favourite Character: My favourite character on this half of the story was probably Nurse Em as she seemed really sweet and genuine and pretty much inspired Lyra to do everything she did throughout the story. I didn’t really have a stand out character but if I had to pick one I would choose her.

Quote“Lyra and Caelum: the two replicas with names plucked straight from the stars.”

Ending: I think this end of the story was really hopeful and lovely. It wrapped up Lyra’s half of the story really nicely which was nice to see although was a bit expected.

Gemma:

Overview: Despite being the ‘human’ of the two I think I found Gemma a lot harder to relate to. I recently finished her part of the story after like 3 months mainly because I wasn’t very engaged in the story. I got through the first 100 pages and put it down. I kept trying to get reading it but didn’t feel like it but when I did put my head down and finish it I did enjoy it more than I thought I would. I think the chapter of Gemma was a bit irritating and I did feel sorry for all she had gone through but I didn’t like many of the characters present in her side and felt very distant from her as a character.

Favourite Character: My favourite character in Gemma’s half was probably April, Gemma’s best friend as she seemed really caring and just a genuine person.

Quote:“Normal is a word invented by boring people to make them feel better about being boring.”

Ending: This side of the story alike Lyra’s ended pretty hopefully but didn’t exactly round off the story seeing as it was the 2nd perspective I read. I think seeing as there is a second book I will be really interested to see where that goes.

Overall, I do think I enjoyed Lyra’s half of the story as I was a lot more engaged in the story and there was a bit more going on which made it more interesting although when I finally decided to get in Gemma’s chapter I did enjoy it. I would recommend this book to everyone as it is an easy read and really entertaining.

Rating: 4/5 stars

If you have read this book, tell me what you thought of it and who’s perspective you started on or if you flipped between them and if you thought that was good way to go. Thanks for reading guys and we will be back with another post soon. x

tumblr_inline_o8rm02xMyi1ro2c9l_500.jpg

2 comments

Leave a Reply

