Love, Lucas by Chantelle Sedgwick

Annike: Hey guys, it’s been a while since we’ve been on here – or at least longer than normal – and we’ve just been super busy with exams here so we haven’t really had any time to blog and we are very sorry about that. No matter, here I am today with a review of Love, Lucas by Chantelle Sedgwick so here goes…

23130126.jpgWhen Oakley Nelson loses her older brother, Lucas, to cancer, she thinks she’ll never recover. Between her parents’ arguing and the battle she’s fighting with depression, she feels nothing but a hollow emptiness. When Mom suggests they spend a few months in California with Aunt Jo, Oakley is willing to give it a try.

In California, Oakley discovers a freedom in Aunt Jo’s beach house. Then, mom hands her a notebook full of letters addressed to her—from Lucas. As Oakley reads one each day, she realizes how much he loved her, and each letter challenges her to be better and to continue to enjoy her life. He wants her to move on.

But then a surfer named Carson comes into her life, and Oakley is blindsided. He makes her feel again and she is surprised by how much she cares for him. But how can she fall in love and be happy when Lucas never got the chance to do those very same things?

I actually received this book back in December as a Christmas present from my mum. I thought it sounded like a really thought provoking and sad book that I would really enjoy. And even though I did enjoy it, it definitely fell short from my expectations. Where I was expecting a really sad and deep book I found a lot of the emotions seemed half backed and it was hard to relate to the writing style of Sedgwick. I thought that the overall book fell a little flat because it was so hard to really connect with and I felt like a lot of the dialogue was way too cheesy and more of a sequence of events than a story.

Oakley was a really interesting character who I did really enjoy. She was grieving and having a hard time coming to terms with the death of her older brother and best friend, Lucas. While she was a character I did really like she also had her shortcomings as she was very standoffish and she seemed to be all over the place all the time not really knowing what she wanted or didn’t want. Carson on the other hand was probably my favourite character of the book. He was genuine with his own baggage and while he may have been quite a predictable character I did enjoy reading about him and his family.

I liked the relationship between Oakley and Carson because I really liked them as individuals however it seemed a bit rushed, quick and not developed enough as I went through the book which made it hard to swoon as much 🙂 Oakley also seemed to make some bad decisions in distancing herself from everyone around her but it was great to be able to see the impact that Lucas’s death had had on Oakley even if it meant she ran away from everything and everyone that started to mean something.

 I really enjoyed reading the letters from Lucas to Oakley and there were many great messages in them that made you think. To me, it could have been a bit more deep and meaningful but I guess it was nice to see that inside character of Lucas in the way he wrote and expressed himself on paper to Oakley. The plot of the book was quite slow because there were no real major events in the storyline. The death of Lucas happened previous to the beginning of the story so it was nice to get to look back at the relationship between Oakley and Lucas in memories. There was an event at the end of the book that I found really interesting to read about and it would have been nice as well to hear a little bit more about the struggle with all of these events.

Overall, while the book did seem to have a lot of promise I found that I didn’t love it as much as I hoped. No matter, I think it was a really enjoyable book that I sped through really quickly as its a pretty light read. While it may not have lived up to my expectations I certainly wouldn’t rule out recommending it because it was a good book that I did enjoy and was glad to be able to have a chance to get through. So yeah, that’s all. Have a great week and I hope we’re back soon for another post!

2.5/3 stars 

19208279._SX540_.jpg

6 comments

  1. I like the premise of the book, which is why I’m saddened to hear that there are very few important plot points in it. However, your review piqued my interest; I’m looking up “Love, Lucas” on Amazon as we type!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read this book and I had the same feelings as you did. The whole plot seemed just to be about Oakley and Carson, and sometimes the way they interacted was just too cheesy to be realistic. I also really liked Dillon, idk why but I thought he and Oakley were eventually going to become a thing. The letters always made me
    cry haha not because they were sad but because Oakley was sad reading them. I felt like besides Oakley and Carson, though, we didn’t get much character development. So yeah, I liked it but it wasn’t spectacular or anything. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t help it but some of the scene and dialogue made me cringe despite really wanting to love Oakley and Carson. I do agree with that, Oakley was always so sad reading the letters but it might have been nice to connect with her on a deeper level as well. Thank you! Glad to hear you had some of the same thoughts and experiences 🙂
      ~ A

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

