A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass

Annike: Hey guys! As of like 4 days ago I finally finished A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I actually began reading it towards the beginning of February but similarly to A Torch Against the Night that I reviewed last week, I ended up putting it down after 150 pages or so and coming back to it like a month later. Point is, I finally finished it and it was a book I really enjoyed so here’s my review…

16096824.jpgWhen nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

This book initially had a lot of hype when I began reading it. This only escalated when it was in both the February and March TBR I think…? And point is, I was getting a lot of very positive feedback from it which might have set my standards quite high to begin with. However as the story progressed I think I really started to enjoy it.

The premise of the story and the action really happened quite early on in the book which was definitely something I enjoyed. It meant that the book was really quick paced and didn’t leave time to be bored or anything of that sort. We are introduced to Feyre who is a young girl simply struggling to make ends meet with her family and I was instantly drawn into her as a character. She was so exciting to get to know and despite many of the questionable decisions (!!!) she made, I genuinely think she was a good main character.

Feyre, hunts and kills a wolf at the beginning of the book who was apparently a ‘High-Fae’, meaning that as punishment she is to be taken from her house and sent to live with a High Faerie called Tamlin and his friends Lucien. This ultimately leads us to being introduced to the faerie world and all of these legends etc. I can’t say that this was one of my favourite parts of the book because I’m genuinely not that interested in this kind of stuff but it’s usually something I don’t spend that much time focusing on.

SPOILER Despite a lot of reviews I’ve seen on this book I really liked Tamlin as a character, he seemed like a kind and caring characters, minus all the secret brooding he seemed to do. I was spoiled about the way that Feyre ended up before I read the book simply because like I looked at ACOMAF on Goodreads and it was all over. This made it really hard because I really wanted to like Tamlin and like the two of them together but I already knew how it was going to end up so that was a bit disappointing.

I found the middle of the book the hardest to get into but with all the reveals at the end it really made the whole read worthwhile and the last 150 pages and so were really gripping. I really enjoyed the book and I thought the characters were great to read about. I’ve heard that the second book is just simply mind blowing so there is no way I am missing that and really want to get my hands on it straight away!

Thanks for reading, let me know if you guys want to read or have read this and if you have, let me know how you thought it was plus any other information about the second book 🙂 Have a good week!

37 comments

  1. Not sure if you guys have read the second book yet, but A Court of Mist and Fury is even better than the first book, if possible. Super excited because A COurt of Wings and Ruin is releasing soon. I actually enjoyed this better than Srah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series (even though that’s more famous), what about you guys?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually have A Court of Mist and Fury at my house but for some reason I can’t bring myself to read it! I’ve heard really good things about it but I think it might be the size that is making me a little apprehensive :/
      Anyways thanks for the positive feedback – that always helps! I actually haven’t read Throne of Glass but I know that Zoe has and really liked it – still not sure if I’ll ever get into it.
      ~ A

      Like

  2. I was actually a huge fan of Tamlin’s in this book as well. I wont say anything about the second book but I definetly can’t wait to see what you end up thinking after you read it. Great review and I’m glad you ended up enjoying this!! 😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoyed this book when I read it, however the more I read by the this author the less I like her work. The main thing that bothers me about ALL Sarah J. Maas’s books is the language… The setting and plot are fantasy, yet the characters use modern day language and swear words. Kind of breaks the fourth wall for me, as it were.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I do like Tamlin in this book too actually. Some reviewers may already love Rhysand but I don’t see how he’s all that in this book 🙂 Putting the book down and picking it back up is the way to go. I do that so often too haha.. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve thought about reading this series, but I made it out of the Throne of Glass series, and don’t know if my heart can handle another series by Sarah J Mass. But, I haven’t completely ruled it out yet!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yay for finishing ACOTAR! I really liked this book (even more than ACOMAF, though not many people feel the same way as me haha). I loved Tamlin in the first book too! My feelings changed in ACOMAF but you’ll discover why soon 😉 Great review as always, Annike!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

