New York Times ‘By The Book’ Tag and The Book Fests Award!!

Annike: Hey guys, so today we are doing a dual tag so will be dividing and conquering to complete both in the one post! The first tag will be the New York Times by the Book Tag and then The Book Fests Award. Thank you so much to BookFandom1001 and My Shelf and Myself for the tags, let’s go!

New York Times By The Book Tag:

  1. What book is on your nightstand right now?

I have a lot of book on my bedside table including, Replica by Lauren Oliver, Panic also by Lauren Oliver, Forget Me Not by Carolee Dean and Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard.

  1. What is the last truly great book you’ve read?

Probably Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. I loved the story line and the writing was amazing I couldn’t put it down.

15441253._SY540_.jpg

  1. If you could meet any writer, dead or alive, who would it be? And what would you want to know?

I don’t really have a specific author I love and would die to meet but I would probably go for Victoria Aveyard as I have loved her 2 books and can’t wait to read the rest of the series. I would probably ask her where her inspiration comes from and how long she has been writing for.

  1. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

To be honest I don’t really have that many books on my bookshelf as I normally just read books from the library or online, so all the books I do have are ones I recently have read or super popular YA books such as the Maze Runner series.

  1. How do you organize your personal library?

As said above I don’t really have much of a library so I really just chuck them in the shelf and leave them there. Sorry.

  1. What book have you always meant to read but haven’t gotten around to yet?

Dualed by Elsie Chapman has been on my TBR for SO long and I think I am kind of getting over the idea of it, but I have wanted to read it for a long time.

  1. Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t?

I have said this a lot, it has got to be Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I say this because I felt as though I really should have enjoyed it seeing as Annike loved it and it has twins in it so would have been relatable but I just wasn’t engaged in the story at all.static1.squarespace.jpg

  1.  What stories are you drawn to? Any you steer clear of?

I am often drawn to contemporary fiction as these are the book I tend to read the most but I have come to enjoy a couple fantasy books over the past few months really enjoying the Red Queen series and the Throne of Glass series. I tend to steer clear of horror and historical stories as I don’t enjoy them as much and haven’t really read many.

  1. If you could require the Prime Minister to read one book, what would it be?

No idea. I don’t think he would like any of the books I have read seeing as they are all in the YA genre:/

  1. What do you plan to read next?

I plan to read An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. This was HIGHLY requested by Annie so I thought I would give it a go:)

 

The Book Fests Award

award.png

THE RULES:

  • It’s always proper and the right thing to do, when you receive something from someone, you thank them. It’s the same with this award. You can link the blogger who presents the award blog in the post you use to fulfill the requirements of the award.
  • Answer the award questions that will be listed below.
  • Write a Fifty Words Story, because it’s fun.
  • Award five or more bloggers with this Award.
  • Ask them a question of your making, you’ll like them to answer.
  • Put up the award image badge on your blog via image widget.
  1. A book you started but never finished…but want to finish. What stopped you from continuing to read it?

I started reading Because You’ll Never Meet Me and for some reason the story didn’t stick. However I have always kind of wanted to read it because I’ve heard such great things about the story and about how unique it is.

images.jpg

  1. What elements attract you to a book, which makes you need to read it?

Of course, initially I am attracted to a book by the cover and how pretty it is even though that’s not really fair. Other than that of course I am always attracted by the blurb at the back of a book because it’s always the way that I chose whether to read a book or not ultimately.

  1. Which books do you prefer, e-copy or hard copy?

I definitely prefer hard copy. I know that I’ve said this numerous times in different awards and tags but I don’t think it’s something that’ll ever change.

  1. What book are you currently reading or going to read next?

I am currently reading A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas and am about 100 pages till the end – really enjoying it. I’m also hoping to read A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray next and finish off that trilogy!

77493_original.jpg 28960207.jpg

  1. Is it fair to judge a book by its film?

I think it’s fair to judge the premise of a book of the film because if you hate what the movie is about then you’ll likely hate the book. But not based on anything else like the characters or setting or any general vibes because films are so often very different to their book counterparts.

  1. What book did you badly judge by its cover and ended up loving?

I really don’t like the cover of the book Almost by Anne Eliot but this book was one of my very favourites of a couple years ago and it’s a really deep but beautiful story.

  1. Which book character have you felt the most kin with and able to relate with?

I’ve always felt really able to relate to Grace from How I lost you by Janet Gurtler. It’s not a really well known book but Grace is a quite serious and mature character who also has a light and happy side to herself and the book follows her growing apart from her best friend. While this particular scenario doesn’t relate to me I just found her a really amazing character.

  1. If you could trade lives with one book character, who would it be and why?

I’d trade lives with Andy from The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. She has such an amazing network of friends and Clarke is just too good to pass up! Also, who wouldn’t want to walk and hang out with dogs all the time?!

  1. Bex’s Question: what’s a book that you have absolutely loved, but nobody else seems to have heard of?

Another couple of books by Anne Eliot that I love are How I fall and How I Fly. They are a duology that focuses on a girl with cerebral palsy and I just never see them around!

My Question: What’s a book you liked that you didn’t like the main character’s name in?

Story:

And so, when I reached out my hand to grab yours, I was met with only the cold air of reality. And reality whispered into my ear, it’s voice soft with malice as it told me: ‘You will never be good enough’.

And that was the truth.

Haha that was a fun little story 🙂 not so much a story but more like an excerpt that I made up in a couple of minutes!

We tag:

Yours-A-Fiction-ately

The Book Corps

Avanithenerd

Between the Pages

Discover a World Through a Book

Of course, no one has to do either of the tags but if you are interested go ahead!

Annike: Thanks for reading guys! Hope you enjoyed both of these questionnaires/tags. We’ll be back for another review next week but for now I hope you guys all enjoy the rest of your week. Bye!

5 comments

  1. I always love reading you gals’ tag posts! Still so sad you don’t like Fangirl, Zoe! But to each their own I suppose 🙂 I can’t wait for you to read An Ember in the Ashes because that series is so good!! Glad you’re enjoying ACOTAR, Annike! Unlike most people I know, I actually enjoyed ACOTAR more than ACOMAF but I definitely have an unpopular opinion haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Ikr I was so devastated because Fangirl is one of my all time favourite reads!! I’m so excited for Zoe to read An Ember in the Ashes as well as A Torch Against the Night because they are the most amazing books. Yeah, I’ve hardly heard about anyone who’s liked the first book more than the second. I did enjoy the first (finished it today) but I’m hoping the second is even better 🙂
      ~ A

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post – I’m reading King’s Cage at the moment and ABSOLUTELY LOVING IT, so I would 100% reading that as soon as you can!! And I also agree with you about Fangirl – there was so much hype about it but I just couldn’t get into the story at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m so excited to start Kings Cage!! I’m hoping it lives up to the hype and I’m so glad your enjoying it. Haha I seriously don’t know any one else who hasn’t liked Fangirl. I totally agree I just didn’t find Fangirl lived up to what I was expecting. x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

