February Read ~ 2017

Annike: Hey guys, so I can’t believe it is the official end of February! Even though this month is a little shorter than the others it was certainly a whole lot of fun in terms of reading so here are the books Zoe and I read this month and what we thought of them. We’re going to keep with the idea we started last month working in categories and deciding our favourite and least favourite book of the month etc.

Annike’s books

Screen Shot 2017-02-27 at 8.24.42 pm.png

  1. Shades of Earth by Beth Revis – 3 stars
  2. Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill – 3 stars
  3. By Your Side by Kasie West – 3.5 stars
  4. Ten Thousand Skies Above you by Claudia Gray – 4 stars
  5. How to Keep Rolling After a Fall by Karole Cozzo – 3.5 stars
  6. Who we are instead by Kyla Stone – 3 stars

Favourite Book: My favourite book of this month has to be Ten Thousand Skies Above you by Claudia Gray. Even though none of the books were particular standouts I really loved the 2nd book of the firebird series. It was packed with action and lots of twists and turns, definitely a series I’m enjoying!

Least Favourite Book: I fairly enjoyed every book that I read this month and didn’t have any that I didn’t like however Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill was probably my least favourite of the 6. I didn’t find it very deep or particularly amazing but it was a fun premise with an engaging storyline.

Favourite Ending: Coming to the end of trilogies or series is always really exciting for me and I was super happy to have finally finished Shades of Earth – the Across the Universe trilogy. Endings are always the best parts of books and even though there was so much death and sadness in the final instalment of the trilogy, it was so great to have such a satisfying ending with Elder and Amy 🙂

Best Characters/Development: Although this book is probably one of my least favourites of Kasie West’s novels, I really enjoyed reading about Autumn and Dax along with all of their friends who created a great dynamic. Although they weren’t the most caring friends I liked how they were all so different and Autumn and Dax complemented each other as characters really well too.

Favourite Cover: I actually really like the cover of Who we are instead by Kyra Stone! It’s not my favourite cover ever but the favourite probably of the month and the book was really interesting as well. I got it from NetGalley and it was all about a girl named Lena who was struggling with the deterioration of her father and her troubled sister who had begun to spiral out of control.

Biggest Disappointment: Zoe and I actually both read this book this month and while I genuinely enjoyed it I think I was expecting more from How to Keep Rolling After a Fall by Karole Cozzo. As a book dealing with the issue of disability, I was hoping for a really deep book that explored these issues and it would have been nice in this way to also have chapters with the perspective of Pax who was disabled. I found it interesting to read about Nikki and the way she was dealing with being labelled ‘The Bully’ and with such great themes I wished this book would have been a little bit more hard hitting rather than just a fluffy love story.

 

Zoe’s Books

  1. Never Said by Carol Lynch Williams (1.5 stars)
  2. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard (5 stars)
  3. How to Keep Rolling After a Fall by Karole Cozzo (4 stars)

Screen Shot 2017-02-27 at 8.41.19 pm.png

Favourite book: This would definitely go to Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. It is the second book in the Red Queen series which I loved and was so thrilled with the quality of the second book as it didn’t let down the series at all. I loved the writing and all the characters were amazing so overall I thought the book was amazing and would definitely recommend the series if you haven’t read it and the second book if you finished the first!

Least Favourite Book: This would definitely go to Never Said by Carol Lynch Williams as it looked really interesting at the beginning but I really disliked the story line and layout of the book. The book had very short chapters being narrated by 2 different characters, who were twins and both very different. I didn’t connect with either Sarah or Annie and I thought Annie’s parts were really peculiar and almost poem like. Overall the book didn’t really click with me but it was a really easy read and had quite an interesting plot.

Best Characters/Development: I really loved How to Keep Rolling After a Fall by Karole Cozzo for a number of reasons but especially the characters. All the characters were so cute and genuine and although the book was a bit of a clique it was a light easy and fun read which I really enjoyed and kept finding myself really wanting to read.

Overall, I didn’t have a very good month only finishing 3 book although I did enjoy them. Hopefully next month I will have a bit more of a variety!

Annike: Thanks for reading guys, let us know if you’ve read any of these books or if you are planning to any time soon. Hope your February was amazing and we’ll be back soon with the books we want to read in March!

4 comments

  1. Looks like you guys had a great reading month! Zoe, such a low rating for that book! It really must’ve been terrible 😂 🙈 I haven’t read these books, but How to Keep Rolling After a Fall is definitely on my tbr!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah we both definitely had some good books this month! Haha yeah it was pretty bad, I mean the writing was okay I just was so uninterested in the story. A bit disappointing but it was an easy read so I don’t really mind. Yeah How to Keep Rolling After a Fall was really cute. I hope you enjoy it if you do end up reading it! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

