January Read ~ 2017

Hey guys, here we are today with a wrap up of our month. January was a good reading month for both of us and here is what we got to and read! We also decided that instead of a usual paragraph to talk about the books we read we are going to put some of our books into the categories we chose, and we hope that makes it more enjoyable to read.

Annike’s Books:

  1. Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts ~ 3 stars
  2. The Future of Us by Carolyn Mackler and Jay Asher ~ 4 stars
  3. 7 Clues to Winning You by Kristin Walker ~ 4 stars
  4. Suicide Notes by Michael Thomas Ford ~ 2 stars
  5. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon ~ 4 stars
  6. Someone Else’s Summer by Rachel Bateman ~ 4 stars
  7. An Ember in the Ashes by Saraa Tahir ~ 5 stars
  8. Rebellion by Kass Morgan ~ 4 stars
  9. Across the Universe by Beth Revis ~ 3 stars
  10. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child ~ 3 stars
  11. The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jennifer P. Nguyen ~ 3 stars
  12. When We Collided by Emery Lord ~ 4 stars
  13. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness ~ 3 stars
  14. A Million Suns by Beth Revis ~ 3 stars
  15. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray ~ 4 stars
  16. It Started With Goodbye by Christina June ~ 4 stars

Screen Shot 2017-01-28 at 9.06.53 pm.png

Favourite Book: I only gave out one 5 stars book this month which was An Ember in the Ashes by Saraa Tahir. It was an amazing book that looked at two people, one a slave and one a soldier and how they met and interacted despite their differences. It was fast paced and had a great world invention.

Least Favourite Book: The only book that got lower than a 3 stars this month for me was Suicide Notes by Michael Thomas Ford. I wasn’t too sure about the book from the beginning, I didn’t think it had a very strong storyline and the ending was a bit of a disappointment. Overall, it just wasn’t a book I enjoyed.

Favourite Ending: One of the best endings of all time has to be the ending of The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I feel like the book ramped up and got really amazing towards the end, not only the very ending but also the last 50-100 pages. It wasn’t necessarily the happiest but it was very powerful.

Favourite Premise: Although The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler wasn’t the best executed story ever, the premise and idea for this book was amazing it was such a great read because I was hooked from the blurb.

Best Characters/Development: I adored the characters in When We Collided by Emery Lord mostly because of Jonah and his big family. I actually didn’t like Vivi very much because I think Jonah deserved better but his family and all their different personalities was adorable as well as all of the friends and supporting community.

Favourite Cover: Of course my favourite cover of this month was A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. The book was really amazing too with its intense plot and exciting scenarios but the cover was so amazing that I couldn’t take my eyes off it!

Biggest Disappointment: Even though I was prepared for it, the biggest disappointment for this month was Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling. I wasn’t engaged at all, the characters weren’t developed well but I do love the world of Harry Potter so gave it a 3 stars.

Other: I was able to read 2 ARC’s this month Someone Else’s Summer and It Started with Goodbye, both of which are released later in the year and I really enjoyed. They had a light aspect to them but with underlying deep messages and exciting plots. I listened to my first audio book which was A Monster Calls on the way up to a holiday house and found both the story and the experience really enjoyable. I also got to the first and second book of a Across the Universe trilogy, which is a sci-fi series. They were both pretty exciting and very plot driven.  

 

Zoe’s Books:

  1. Panic by Lauren Oliver ~ 3.5 stars
  2. The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard ~ 4 stars
  3. Never Never series by Colleen Hoover ~ 4 stars
  4. Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard ~ 3 stars
  5. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas ~ 5 stars
  6. Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey ~ 3 stars
  7. The Good Girls by Sara Shepard ~ 3.5 stars

screen-shot-2017-01-28-at-9-17-01-pm

Favourite Book: I would have to say my favourite book this month would be Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas however I am a bit unsure if I would still give this book 5 stars because there were quite a few aspects I didn’t love, but it was still a great read.

Least Favourite Book: This one is a bit difficult seeing as three of my books got 3 stars, however I am going to say Cruel Crown and not because it was bad it was just that it wasn’t so much of a book and I didn’t feel that connected to the characters, however it was still well written.

Favourite Ending: I am going to have to say Jasper Jones because I thought the story all wrapped up really well and ended really well and was unexpected which I loved.

Favourite Premise: I would definitely say Panic by Lauren Oliver had the best premise as it sounded so amazing and I really love the idea of a small town playing this radical and dangerous game and I do think the book delivered on several aspects.

Best Characters/Development: I am going to say the Never Never series had really good character development and characters as I loved the characters and throughout the series they became really likeable and connectable which was nice to see.

Favourite Cover: My favourite cover would have to be The Perfectionists and the Perfectionist series in general because they are amazing and I think they both look amazing.

Biggest Disappointment: I would have to say my biggest disappointment in a book would probably have to be The Good Girls as the reviews were really great but I didn’t love it as much as I thought I would. I didn’t really seem to like the ending and although it was creative I thought it was a bit too peculiar.
Thanks for reading guys, let us know what you thought of any of these books and we’ll be back next week with another book review.

8 comments

Leave a Reply

