A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray ~ Book Review

Annike: Hey guys, so here I am today with a review on a book that I mostly in the car on the way back from holidays and one that I bought myself after Christmas at Dymocks. I’d seen it around WordPress and Goodreads a lot, but wasn’t really sure about the blurb. However I’m so glad that I enjoyed it so much and it definitely exceeded my expectations.

17234658.jpgMarguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes—and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite’s father is murdered, and the killer—her parent’s handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul— escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows—including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul’s guilt—as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is far more sinister than she expected.

Before I start the proper review I just want to point out how beautiful that cover is! I do have to admit it was one of the contributing factors to me buying the book and as I was reading it I just kept going back to the front to look at it again because it is so gorgeous 🙂

This book focuses on the main character Marguerite, who’s parents are famous physicists. They came up with the idea of being able to travel through dimensions so when Marguerite’s father in supposedly killed by one of his apprentices, she uses this device to try to catch him after he has escaped through a different dimension. One of the things with this book was I found it a little bit confusing. When an author has to come up with a story of travel through time or dimensions, it comes with a lot of  rules and ways that it has to be able to work, so it is always a bit confusing to get your head around but for the most part, I could understand the rues for travelling through dimensions.

I have to say, I’m not much of a fan of the character names in this book (the main three) but I enjoyed their depth a lot. I never really did like Paul or Theo, only because they were different in the dimensions and everything plus they both seemed to be on very opposite ends of the spectrum but eventually I came around. Paul seemed like someone I never really understood, add in the fact that he was a different Paul in the Russian dimension – when Marguerite fell in love with him – and it was a bit hard to feel a real connection. He was described mostly as awkward and big which didn’t help the cause much either. Yet I loved the character of Marguerite’s mum and dad, of whom you got to see in many different dimensions and the way that they always seemed to fall in love no matter what happened.

I have to say, I definitely loved the Russian dimension the most. It was so cool to see Marguerite as a young duchess, adapting to the lifestyle and getting to know a family that she didn’t have IRL. There was just something in this dimension that really caught me and reeled me in, plus the amazing idea of Marguerite getting to see her dad after his death was fun to read. This dimension and the story in this dimension was definitely the longest and took up a large portion of the book which was great because I feel like too much jumping around wouldn’t have made the story as deep and able to be engrossed in.

This book was so engaging, so at every point there seemed to be a plot twist or some kind of event happening that had me at the edge of my seat. The writing was powerful and exciting so I felt like it made up for the horrible love triangle that the book included. I get really sick of this kind of trope, but a lot of the other great things compensated for it. Another reason that this book didn’t get 5 stars for me was because I wasn’t the biggest fan of any of the main characters, and liked the smaller characters more but other than that it was a really enjoyable book that I definitely recommend.

4/5 stars

Thanks for reading guys! We’ll be back later this week but for now – have a great week wherever you are!

13 comments

  1. I have most of the same thoughts as you did while reading this book. The Russian dimension was my favorite as well and I really enjoyed that part of the book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

