Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Hey guys it Zoe here today and I am doing a review on the book I most recently read called Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, so here we go…7896527.jpg

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

It took me a long time to actually start reading this book let along pick it up. Annike finally convinced me to give it a go and I decided why not? I figured because it was a fantasy book I wouldn’t enjoy it as much because I don’t read fantasy all that much, anyway, I am so glad I did decide to pick it up because it was amazing and I really enjoyed it.

I thought the book was so well written and I immediately connected with the protagonist, Celaena Sardothien. She was such a stubborn, genuine, sarcastic character and I thought her fight and determination was awesome. I thought Celaena was so well developed throughout the book and although she carried the scars of her past, the book didn’t revolve around what she had gone through but displayed her as very driven. Although we got glimpses of her past we knew  we didn’t have to spend the whole book going over what she had gone through and got to see how she had changed and evolved due to her experiences. I loved all the characters as they were all so different but very well portrayed in their own rights. I would have to say my favourite character besides Celaena was probably Chaol or Dorain I really don’t know which one I liked more as they were both so sweet.

“We all bear scars,… Mine just happen to be more visible than most.”b927deaa71cb6c7398482b88978651c9.jpg

I thought competition wise the competition was really well constructed and the tasks were one of my favourite things to read about. I thought the characters in the competition were positioned to be disliked so I didn’t love any of them however I did like Nox as he was really genuine and was a good ally and friend to Celaena. I do think that some of the magical elements were a bit to fantastical for me, but I still thought it developed the story well and gave an extra element to the novel and I could definitely see how a lot of the story tied in with parts of other popular novels.

Star rating 5/5

I would have to rate this a 5/5 stars as I couldn’t put the book down and absolutely loved reading it. If you haven’t read it I would definitely recommend picking it up as it is a really good read. If you have read this book make sure to leave a comment on how you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading guys, hope you have all had a good start to the year and we will be back with another blog soon. x

 

22 comments

  1. I ultimately enjoyed the book but it took me a bit to get into. I picked it up because of the comparisons to Game of Thrones and the Hunger Games. While I can see why the comparisons are made, this book pales in comparison to both those series which is partly why it took me a little to get into.

    What hooked me was getting to know Celaena. You spoke really well to what makes her such a rich and fascinating character.

    Have you read the rest of the series? I enjoyed the book but I don’t feel like the ending left me hell-bent on reading the sequel. Would you recommend continuing to read the series?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the lovely comment:) I totally agree… It took ages to actually get into it and I took the book by chapters until I was so immersed. Yeah I loved Celaena as a character. She was really well developed. I actually haven’t read the next one. I have it sitting on my computer and I really want to read it but I just don’t have the motivation. A lot of the others say that the second is amazing so we’ll see… let me know if you liked it if you ever get around to it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I got around to reading the sequel ‘Crown of Midnight’. I liked it better than the first book. The plot gets going much quicker and has a lot more twists. Celaena continues to be a really well developed character, but we also learn a lot more about her past. Other characters like Chaol, Dorian, and Nehemia are also better developed in this book. Also, the world-building starts to get better.

        Like

  2. Great review 😊
    I have read all the books of this amazing series and I am now waiting for the final one. I hope you haven’t decided to give up because believe me it gets so much better and each charachter develops beautifully, even Celaena. And I must tell you Dorian is my favourite of all because…well you’ll have to find out yourself😉. So much is going to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been meaning to read this book for a while – I have it ready to go, and I’m in between books at the moment and considering my next read.
    I think you’ve just helped me decide. Thanks, and great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This book kept calling out to me every time I went into the bookshop. I finally bought it, just to shut it up, and then became so engrossed that I binge read all five books (I’m currently read the prequel Assassin’s Blade) over my Christmas break. Be warned – you could get hooked like me! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I absolutely love this series, especially now that I’ve read all of the books (so far). The character development is phenomenal, and I love hearing people’s thoughts when they’ve just started, because it reminds me how far this series has come.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am so happy that you’ve read this book and loved it!! I get not being able to choose between Dorian and Chaol, they’re both so cute! And also, I agree with how you say that she’s stubborn, she is, but I feel that its in a good way because she just doesn’t stop fighting, you know?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha thanks, yeah I am really glad I decided to give it a go. I know Dorian and Chaol are both so nice and I am interested to see how each of them play out in the following books. Yeah I definitely agree that she is stubborn in a good way as she is so determined but still keeps her unique personality and doesn’t let someone change her which is nice to see. Glad you enjoyed it as well:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

