Panic by Lauren Oliver

Hey guys its Zoë here today doing a review on the book I read recently and that I got for Christmas from Annike called Panic by Lauren Oliver. So here we go…

Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.

Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.

Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn’t know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.

For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.

Things I liked about the book:

  1. I loved the concept of the book as I really enjoy books with a game style plot or something people have to compete in, I don’t know why I just really do, so this was definitely the main reason I enjoyed this book.
  2. The cover is awesome!
  3. I liked the way the book was set out and loved getting to read 2 sides of the story coming from the 2 very different perspectives of Dodge and Heather.
  4. I liked the motivation both of the characters had for winning as they were both doing it for someone else rather than themselves which I respected from the 2 of them, and they both stuck to their morals (most of the time…).
  5. The characters were really well drawn and developed throughout the book, my favourite having to be Bishop (Heather and Nat’s friend) as he was generally genuine and reliable and seemed caring for both of their safety.
  6. The book was written really well so thumbs up to Lauren Oliver for the writing.
  7. The challenges were really interesting and I loved getting to read about them being completed and which characters stayed in or got out of the compeition.
  8. I thought the ending was good it summed up everything well and left me feeling happy and satisfied.

“The rules of Panic are simple. Anyone can enter. But only one person will win.” 

Things I didn’t like about the book:

  1. I thought the motive for this game was a bit wierd, being in a poor town with an obviously depressed bunch of people, and did not seem like something people would or should put their lives on the line for.
  2. I didn’t really feel connected to the characters and although they were well developed neither Heather or Dodge was very relatable.
  3. Heather was poorly developed at the beginning of the book, risking her life out of spite of her boyfriend Matt who dumped her/cheated. This did carry through a lot of the book until her and her sister were thrown out of their house.
  4. Seemed a bit clique and predictable by the end. (Funnily enough I called the books twist from the beginning, I don’t really know how but I just figured it would happen and it ended up that it did)
  5. The book had all the stereotypes of teenagers which didn’t really include much originality personality wise.

“Maybe you carried your demons with you everywhere, the way you carried your shadow.”

Overall I thought the book was a really enjoyable read and although it may not have been one of my favourite I think it was a good book to begin 2017 with. I thought the plot was really well developed and loved getting to see all the different people face each challenge for a number of different reasons. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a competitive, survival game type book, and it is an easy read so give it a go. If you have read this book or might want to, make sure to comment down below on how you enjoyed it or ask me any questions. We will be back with another review soon, and thanks for reading. x

5 comments

  1. This sounds interesting — I feel like I’d agree with you about the motive for the game being sort of strange, but the idea of this book intrigues me. Thanks for sharing your review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

