The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon ~ Book Review

Annike: Hey guys, so I just recently finished Nicola Yoon’s, The Sun is Also a Star. I have previously read Everything Everything by her and really enjoyed it and I wanted to give this book a quick review because it is such an amazing read that I would definitely recommend.

28763485.jpgNatasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

4/5 stars

So, this book is set over a single day which I was at first pretty sceptical about given I’m not one for unrealistic ‘love at first site’ storylines but to be honest I think it felt like much, much longer. Daniel and Natasha meet in the morning at New York city after a number of events cause Daniel to see Natasha and take an interest in her.

Writing

I think that the best part about this book for me would have to be the amazing writing by Nicola Yoon. It was extremely powerful and thought provoking and was one of the main things that were able to reel me in. I found that as I was reading it, I picked out some quotes that were just heart stopping and that really stood out for me which is not always something I can do with a book. There was so much great dialogue that was realistic and really interesting theories and stories revolving around science and the universe which was often very interesting to read and ponder about.

Characters

Another one of the things I really did enjoy in this book however was the diversity in the characters of Daniel and Natasha. Daniel is a Korean-American and Natasha was originally born and raised for a while in Jamaica. I thought this brought a lot of depth into the novel and really taught me a bit more about both cultures and the families that may come from these kind of cultures. The characters were also so different but both so well developed which helped a lot in engaging with their stories and their lives and understanding more about their viewpoints from opposite ends of the spectrum.

POV

Lastly, another really unique thing about this book was the many different perspectives and point of views that it had. While Daniel and Natasha were the prominent characters, there were short chapters and histories from people that they came into contact with as well as other ‘feelings’. While I liked some less than others, they created an amazing interconnectedness to the story that was super enjoyable. It also was able to take a look at the story from a third person point of view which was cool and seeing everything come together in the story was something that was great to read about and enhanced the storyline.

What I Didn’t Like

To be perfectly honest, it did take me a little while to get into the story because I was worried about all the hype around the story and wasn’t quite sure why this hype was coming from. The insta-love type of thing did bother me a little bit and may be one of the reasons that I didn’t give it a 5 star rating but also that I can’t ignore the slight loss of interest I had in the beginning. I wasn’t sure I was 100% certain of Daniel and Natasha’s relationship by the end of the book because I simply thought they hadn’t known each other long enough, but apart from this, I think the book was really great and didn’t lack in a lot of other aspects.

Overall, this book was a really good read that I definitely did enjoy. The advice I would give for this, is not to give up and let yourself be engrossed by the story because while it may take a bit of time it definitely does get there! Let me know if you’ve read this book or want to and have a great week!

~A x

 

10 comments

  1. I’m also someone who tends to shy away from books when they seem super hyped up. I think it’s because I’m afraid of being let down! Glad to hear this one turned out ok for you in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also just finished this book and like you I enjoyed it! The insta love part also concerned me a bit but the latter part made up for it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

