The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler ~ Review

Annike: Hey guys, welcome to 2017! I hope you guys have an absolutely fantastic year and I’m here with the first review of the new year with a book by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler called The Future of Us. Here we go:

51nlvdprgglIt’s 1996, and Josh and Emma have been neighbours their whole lives. They’ve been best friends almost as long—at least, up until last November, when Josh did something that changed everything. Things have been weird between them ever since, but when Josh’s family gets a free AOL CD in the mail, his mom makes him bring it over so that Emma can install it on her new computer. When they sign on, they’re automatically logged onto their Facebook pages. But Facebook hasn’t been invented yet. And they’re looking at themselves fifteen years in the future.

By refreshing their pages, they learn that making different decisions now will affect the outcome of their lives later. And as they grapple with the ups and downs of what their futures hold, they’re forced to confront what they’re doing right—and wrong—in the present.

I want to start by saying that this idea has to be one of the very best ideas ever! As soon as I read the blurb, I was instantly enthralled and couldn’t wait until I got into it. The book follows mainly 2 characters, Emma and Josh. I liked the character of Josh a lot more than Emma because I found her to be slightly annoying at times, unable to follow through with her promises and make good life choices. Josh was a bit better and I found him to be quite a considerate and cute character. One of the things I really enjoyed about the book was the friendship group with Emma and her best friend and Josh and his best friend, both of whose best friends were dating at one point (it was complicated). I love books with strong friendships and how they all looked out for each other like that.

I really liked the idea of being able to suddenly find out your future through your Facebook page but I thought it was strange that Emma and Josh didn’t take advantage of this more, especially because this was the main plot. However, it was super interesting to be able to see into the future and alter the present in order to make small changes. Emma showed many examples of this and I thought it was so interesting to see the repercussions that this caused.

One thing that I didn’t enjoy about this book was how it was so solely focused on relationships – like Emma and Josh’s ex’s, current partners and then future partners. I think it would have been interesting to look a bit past who Emma and Josh would end up with and more into their futures and how happy they were with themselves. I feel like Emma had too many guys around at all times and instead it would have been good to see the relationship between Josh and Emma and their friendship blossom. In this way, Emma also didn’t seem to have very good taste in guys and I didn’t like watching her spiral and make bad life choices.

However, even with these problems, the book was super exciting to read and I loved being able to imagine myself in the situation. The premise made up for a lot of the flaws and it was such a good idea that was pretty well executed. I really recommend this book and it was a really enjoyable young adult read.

4/5 stars

Thanks for reading, we’ll be back later in the week for another post! Bye x

8 comments

  1. I read this book yeeeears ago, and I remember really loving it. ESPECIALLY the concept. Although after reading your review, I totally agree that they should have expanded more on the concept of looking into the future- there’s so much more you can do other than just finding out who you’re married to.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

