Zoe’s Favourite 5 Books of 2016

Hey guys so Annike and I have made different posts of our top 5 fav books this year which seems fitting as it is currently New Years Eve. If you haven’t seen hers, go check it out:) So without further ado here are my top 5 books of the year (as well as some honourable mentions).

26064760.jpg23264825.jpg18635016.jpg22328546.jpg15749186.jpg

  1. Trail by Fire by Josephine Angelini

I read this in January so it is quite hard to remember, but I do remember how amazing I thought this book was when I read it so I had to list it as one of my top 5. I fell in love with the cover as soon as I looked at it and fell in love with story. I feel as if I have mixed feelings toward fantasy books but I seemed to really love this book and also enjoyed the second book in the series. “The people who love you will guide you like bright lights into the other worlds.” 

2. The 100, Homecoming by Kass Morgan

This is another book I read in Jan which I loved, and found it really interesting that it was the third in the series and for some reason I found this book more compelling than the first 2. I absolutely loved all the characters and plot and was so engaged in the story. Annike recently got the 4th book which was released in December so I am really excited to read that soon. “Endings and beginnings are inseparable, like the moment before dawn and the moment after.”

3. The One by Kiera Cass

This is also the 3rd book of a series coincidentally which I loved the most out of the series. I got really stuck into the Selection Series this year and loved all the books but this one especially. I don’t know why I just thought it was really engaging and funnily enough it got the highest rating on Goodreads out of any book I read so obviously I am not alone. Not to mention the amazing cover of not only this but all of them in the series. “I should have known that if any girl was going to disobey an order, it would be you.” 

4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

This was definitely a fan favourite book of 2015 and 2016 and I loved it. I thought it was so well written and it was really original with such a range of emotions when reading. I loved all the characters and luckily got the sequel for Christmas which I am sure I will enjoy over the New Year of 2017. “The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.”

5. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I was so glad this book lived up to the hype as I absolutely loved the story. Truth be told I really didn’t like the book when I started reading and found the language really difficult to read but as time went on I fell in love with the story and the characters are some of my favourite of all time. I read the sequel which I also loved and cant wait for the third book:) “Life doesn’t have to be so planned. Just roll with it and let it happen.”

Honourable Mentions

So that is my top 5 favourite books of 2016! I just realised that all my picks are books from series mainly trilogies (well Red Queen and The 100 will end up with 4 books and The Selection series are technically 5 books but the first 3 are from the same POV). I guess I just enjoy series more as they are easier to get invested in seeing as there are more than 1 book. This year I got to 51 books which was a big accomplishment for me seeing as this is one of the first years I have read a lot of books. My goal this year was 40 books so I am really happy with how many I read and I hope 2017 is just as successful. Hope you all had a really good year, if you have read any of the books I mentioned make sure to comment and tell me if you enjoyed them as much as I did. I hope you had a great 2016 and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

