Annike’s Favourite 5 Books of 2016

Hey guys, so Zoe and I decided to make different, individual posts for our favourite books for 2016 and wrap up the year in order to keep the posts a bit shorter. So without further ado, here are my favourite books of 2016, plus a few honourable mentions that just weren’t able to make the cut!! (In no particular order)

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 9.31.54 pm.png

  1. The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

So I read this book in January of this year and even though it was such a long time ago I remember absolutely adoring it! Rick writes so amazingly and it was one of the first really sci fi books I had read in ages. I do have to admit, the size was pretty daunting at the
beginning but Zoe convinced me to just begin, and after that I really couldn’t put it down. The movie was also really enjoyable for me too.

2. The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

So following on, is the second book of the series – The Infinite Sea. I was really able to get into the story once more and I really valued the powerful writing. I remember raving to Zoe about how beautiful the writing was so much that she got genuinely annoyed and the story had so many great plot points that the end of each chapter was literally a heart stopper. Definitely recommended.

3. Some Boys by Patty Blount

So next is a book I again read in January called Some Boys. This book focused on a girl called Grace who was raped by one of the boys at her school, became terribly scarred and had no support as no one seemed to believe her story. I thought this book was so powerful and very deep with an important underlying message. Patty Blount was able to really bring the characters to life in a heartbreaking way and I literally couldn’t put it down. Another story, that was a bit out of the ordinary for me but one I would definitely recommend.

4. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

I LOVE this book so much! It is one of the cutest stories ever and might possibly have been my absolute favourite book of the year. I could not put this book down because I loved the characters so much. It was great to see all the different relationships between family, friends and love interests and be able to come along for the whole journey. It was again quite a long book but I really didn’t want it to finish. I am a big Morgan Matson fan, and have read all of her books as she’s an excellent contemporary author. Plus, look at that adorable cover!

5. Split Second by Kasie West

Last but certainly not least is Kasie West’s Split Second which is actually the second book in a duology. I read the first book called Pivot Point last year but don’t remember it as being particularly amazing but still a good read. However, I found this book in my school library and figured I would simply pick up where I left off. Of course it was absolutely brilliant, another beautiful contemporary story with a bit of fantasy thrown in and such a great premise.

Honourable Mentions:

Thanks for reading guys! If you were wondering, my total book count for 2016 was 108 books which I was really happy with! (Granted I don’t read another tomorrow) :).

I think I had a really great year of reading and was so excited to start sharing the books that I read with you guys and giving recommendations. We will be back NEXT YEAR with another post, but for now have a very happy new year and enjoy your last day or 2 days of 2016! Make sure you check out Zoe’s favourite books of 2016 in her post on TwinTales. x

8 comments

Leave a Reply

