Christmas Haul

Annike: Hey guys, so Christmas was like 3 days ago now and Zoe and I wanted to share some of the books that we received on Sunday and tell you a bit about why we wanted them and why we are excited to get them! Zoe took some photos of them all and we’ll just do a bit of a conversation post. Please tell us if you have read any of these books or plan to cause we’d love to hear from you!

  1. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Gla.JPG

Zoe: I have been waiting to get this book for ages ever since I read Red Queen and absolutely loved it, I am just hoping it lives up to the expectations and is as good as the first. 

2. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

Har.JPG

Annike: So I’ve been telling everyone for the last 6 months or so that I don’t feel like a true Harry Potter fan because I haven’t read the last book, and even though I haven’t heard great things about this book I’m exciting to continue on the journey because I really do love this series.

3. How to Keep Rolling After a Fall by Karole Kozzo

How.JPG

Annike: This book looks like a really interesting story with quite a deep background story which is always really cool. I guess I am worrying a bit about the characterisation because it sounds like the main character may be one of those stereotypical girls that is just downright rude but i’m again hoping to really enjoy this read.

4. Panic by Lauren Oliver

Pan.JPG

Zoe: Annike actually got me this for Christmas as I thought it looked amazing and I really loved the blurb and the idea behind the story line. There is quite a mixed range of reviews on this book so I am looking forward to seeing if I enjoy it.

5. Love Lucas by Chantelle Sedgwick

Lov.JPG

Annike: Love, Lucas is a book that sounds so incredibly sad and devastating but I really want to read it because it’s been a while since I’ve read a really deeply sad book and it has an amazing premise. I also love books that concern and look at the relationship between siblings 🙂

6. The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

The F.JPG

Annike: I have been waiting sooo long to read this book!! I think that the premise is absolutely fantastic but I’m super worried because I have read some really bad reviews but I am praying that I enjoy it as it is such an anticipated read.

7. The Good Girls and The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard

The G.JPG

Zoe: I have been really wanting these 2 books for ages and was really excited when I got them. I love mystery books and I haven’t read a good one for a while so I hope I really enjoy this one and cant wait to start reading them.

8. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

The.JPG

Annike: Lastly, this book is a very popular young adult story around WordPress and all book related sites and it sounds absolutely fantastic! I have read Everything Everything and really enjoyed it so I hope this one lives up to my expectations Plus the cover is absolutely GORGEOUS!

Thanks for reading guys, I hope you recognise some of these books and have some good feedback on them. We’d love to hear from you and have a fantastic final week of 2016!

21 comments

  1. I’ve also got ‘The Sun is Also a Star’ by Nicola Yoon! Given how great and amazing ‘Everything Everything,’ I can’t help but expect to her latest book to be absolutely amazing! I can’t wait you guys’ thoughts and feels on it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG, what a great haul! You guys are so lucky! I hope you enjoy all your new books!💗
    Glass Sword was okay, as was Red Queen for me. If you have more of a preference towards action, then you may enjoy it more than I did. To tell you the truth, I unfortunately didn’t LOVE Panic and ended up giving it 2 stars, so I hope you’ll like it more! The Future of Us was absolutely amazing. I just loved the concept and the morals, and I know you will, too! The Sun is Also a Star is on my TBR after I devoured Everything, Everything, and I’ve been dying to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, that’s so kind and we are so pleased with all our new books 🙂
      That’s too bad about those two books, I hope Zoe likes them anyways or at least enjoys them a little! OMG yay I am so glad to hear that positive feedback about The Future of Us, because there has been a lack of good reviews on it. I’m so excited!! I really hope you enjoy The Sun is Also a Star if you get to it and thank you so much for your comment and thoughts!
      ~ Annike

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem!😊You may like Panic or Glass Sword if you have different tastes than mine, others have loved them and they just weren’t my fit! And I honestly don’t know what’s up with all those negative reviews that The Future of Us has- it was SUCH a good story. Thanks!😄

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Out of all those books, I’ve only read Harry Potter (of course). I hope you enjoy it more than I did – I wasn’t very fond of the main characters (Scorpius the best, Rose could’ve been the best, and Albus was just a teenager lol).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I liked “The Future of Us” – it wasn’t as good as “13 Reasons Why” and I think it also skews toward the adult YA reader because it takes place in 1996, but it was a fun story! I also loved “Glass Sword” and I can’t wait for Book 3!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I myself didn’t enjoy The Cursed Child much (I rated it 3 stars), so I would lower your expectations before reading it or you’ll be disappointed. I’ve heard such good things about The Sun is Also a Star but have no clue what it’s about. Great haul!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha ok will do, thanks for letting me know 🙂 I haven’t heard great things about the book but still simply want to read it because I love the Harry Potter series. Yeah I’ve heard the sun is also a star is a fantastic story so I’m really hoping I enjoy it as much as others! Thank you so much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

