Never Eighteen by Megan Bostic ~ Book Review

Zoe: Hey guys, I’m here today with a review on the book I recently read called Never Eighteen by Megan Bostic. I have had quite a slow month of reading this December, however I did finish this book yesterday so I thought it would be nice to review it for you all.

8419647Austin Parker is on a journey to bring truth, beauty, and meaning to his life. Austin Parker is never going to see his eighteenth birthday. At the rate he’s going, he probably won’t even see the end of the year. The doctors say his chances of surviving are slim to none even with treatment, so he’s decided it’s time to let go. But before he goes, Austin wants to mend the broken fences in his life. So with the help of his best friend, Kaylee, Austin visits every person in his life who touched him in a special way. He journeys to places he’s loved and those he’s never seen. And what starts as a way to say goodbye turns into a personal journey that brings love, acceptance, and meaning to Austin’s life.

1. What did you think of the main character?

I thought the main character was definitely well displayed and established however I found it very hard to connect with him as he wasn’t very relatable and the book didn’t seem to flow very well.

2. Which character could you relate to best?

I actually have no idea who I related to best, as I didn’t feel as if I related well with anyone in the book. This doesn’t mean that the characters weren’t good as many of them were developed really well but they all had very distinctive voices, which I couldn’t really connect with easily.

3. How did the main character change during the novel?

Seeing as the book was not very spaced out time wise, the change that occurred to Austin was pretty minimal. The first ¾ was set within 3 or so days, maybe a week however the last ¼ covered a lot of time with around 3 or 4 months being discovered when he was in hospital. I think he definitely had a really good heart and had very good intentions as he wanted to make sure he had time to say goodbye to all those who had played a part in his life and attempt to make their lives better. Obviously his physical state changed throughout the book but I also think his thoughts toward death changed a lot and played a really big part in the book.

  1. Favourite quote of the book?

“Maybe if we all just tried to put the pieces back together as soon as they fell out of place, the puzzles in our lives would feel more like an accomplishment than a chore.” 

  1. What did you like least about the book?

I think the thing I liked the least about the book was the fact that us as the readers were quite in the dark about him dying. I read the blurb of the book before I started reading and was like ‘this is about his journey to death obviously’, however when I actually stared reading I was really confused as it wasn’t mentioned at all within the first 100 pages and really only mentioned him trying to live out his life. His illness was only mentioned in the last 30 or so pages of the book, which I know was intentional to create a dramatic effect however, I felt that this part of the book being at the beginning would have been more beneficial. I also feel as if the book was a bit forced and unrealistic.

  1. What did you like most about the book?

I think just getting to read about Austin’s Journey and all the amends he wanted to make or people he wanted to make sure were okay was really nice, as he made sure he left satisfied.

  1. How would you rate it?

I would have to rate this book probably a 2.5/5, and feel that this book is either something you would really love or not love as it has a very distinctive voice. I loved the story line however didn’t feel as if it was executed too well.

Zoe: Thanks for reading guys, if you have read this book tell me how you enjoyed it in the comments and I urge you to give it a go if you like the sound of it. Thanks again and we will be back with another post soon. x

One comment

  1. It sounds very strange for a tense moment to be mentioned in the synopsis and then not be referenced at all until the end — definitely gets rid of the drama and surprise, I’m with you there. Interesting premise for a book though — thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

