My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories ~ Book Review

Annike: Hey guys, so I’m here today with the first book I have finished in the month of December. It was actually a book of short stories so there were 12 different stories with 12 different authors. I’m going to do mini reviews on each one of these as individual stories.

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell – 4/5 stars: I actually really loved this beginning to the book. It was super cute and really simple and easy to follow. There was such a great continuity in the stories and all these little aspects that came up each year that Mags and Noel were together. Overall, a really great start and I love Rainbow Rowell’s writing.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link – 1/5 stars: To be totally honest I found this story super confusing and couldn’t really follow for like half of it so it was a bit of a let down after Midnights

Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Peña – 3/5 stars: I quite enjoyed this story as it followed Shy, who was staying at his managers house during Christmas break. I loved Holly and I thought the development between the characters was really good especially how we got to see a bit of past to get some knowledge.

Polaris is where you’ll find me by Jenny Han – 4/5 stars: This was actually such a cute little storyline, one of those ideas where the human is brought into the actual North Pole with Santa. I loved how immersed in Christmas the story was and how it was a bit more fantastical than the other stories but still a really fun read. However I didn’t like the relationship as much in this one as Natalie seemed a little desperate.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins – 5/5 stars: This book was definitely my favourite out of the book and as Stephanie is the main author of the story (or so I suspect) I was very impressed. I really just loved Marigold and North, plus the storyline was so unique and interesting. The dialogue was excellent and I loved all the snarky little comments too. 

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan – 2.5/5 stars: This story was super short and so I felt like the character development was lacking a bit, hence me not enjoying the story so much. However, it was well written, had an interesting premise and I liked how it included a love story that wasn’t necessarily heterosexual.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black – 2/5 stars. I found this story a little bit weird and I couldn’t really get into it too much. There were a lot of characters who weren’t really developed clearly or deep enough but I could follow along with the plot well enough.

What the Hell have you done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Foreman – 3.5/5 stars: I thoroughly enjoyed this story as well which was surprising because at the beginning I wan’t too sure. The dialogue was really well thought out and it was quite simple and sweet.

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire – 3/5 stars: Myra McEntire’s story had such an interesting premise. I thought it was really creative to use the bad boy persona to develop such a holiday spirited kind of book and it was fun to read.

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White – 4/5 stars: This was a great story, set in a diner and I loved the character of Ben. There were many different issues in the story which was impressive but I found it a little rushed and unbelievable at the end. I really wanted to know why Ben was in juvie, and couldn’t wuite understand why we never found out!

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter – 3/5 stars: The plot and premise of this story really drew me in because I love stories of switching places. It was a fun read but I thought it was way too unbelievable and the ending was a little bit of a buzzkill and let down. 

The Girl who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor – 1/5 stars: Lets just say that this story really confused me and it was definitely not one of my favourites. I was so puzzled and it was such a weird old fashioned kind of setting so I wasn’t really engaged at all throughout.

Overall, the 12 stories average out at around a perfect 3, and I think that is about the score I would give it. Some of the stories I would have loved more of and others there was a bit too much but overall it was a really good book to put me in the spirit. Thanks for reading! x

10 comments

  1. Oh my gosh, I’m currently reading this! That’s so weird, haha. I totally agree with most of your ratings, especially the story written by Stephanie Perkins. That one is probably my favorite so far.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

