The Siren by Kiera Cass ~ Book Review

Zoe: Hey guys I am finally here with a review after like 2 months. I am really sorry, I haven’t got around to reading much as my school work has kind of ramped up a bit meaning I don’t have much time. Anyways I recently finished the book called the Siren by Kiera Cass and decided to do a short review on it 🙂

Just on a quick side note, the answer for Annike’s 3 Truths and a Lie post is at the bottom so go check that out!

Siren+Cover.jpg“You must never do anything that might expose our secret. This means that, in general, you cannot form close bonds with humans. You can speak to us, and you can always commune with the Ocean, but you are deadly to humans. You are, essentially, a weapon. A very beautiful weapon. I won’t lie to you, it can be a lonely existence, but once you are done, you get to live. All you have to give, for now, is obedience and time…”

The same speech has been given hundreds of times to hundreds of beautiful girls who enter the sisterhood of sirens. Kahlen has lived by these rules for years now, patiently waiting for the life she can call her own. But when Akinli, a human, enters her world, she can’t bring herself to live by the rules anymore. Suddenly the life she’s been waiting for doesn’t seem nearly as important as the one she’s living now. 

So I decided to read this book because I loved the selection series also written by Kiera Cass and thought that I would really like this book. It definitely wasn’t what I was expecting but this isn’t a bad thing. I think it really surprised me because I picked up the book with absolutely no idea what it was about and dived straight in.

Favourite character: I would have to say my favourite character was Miaka as she was a really genuine and caring ‘sister’ and had a really good personality. She stood strong to her word and was always there for Kahlen, which I thought, was really lovely.

Least favourite character: I would have to say the Ocean. Now if you haven’t read this book you would probably have no idea what I am talking about but I found her a bit evasive and controlling and I know that was how her character was set out to be but I didn’t really like her personality or the way she showed affection.

Favourite quote: “Books were a safe place, a world apart from my own. No matter what had happened that day, that year, there was always a story in which someone overcame their darkest hour. I wasn’t alone.” 

Was the book different from what you expected? As I said above I had no idea what the book was about the first time I picked it up so I really didn’t have much of an expectation other than Kiera Cass’s other books so no it wasn’t.

What alternative title would you choose for this book? Inaudible Love

Did you like the way the book ended? I do think it was a bit predictable but If it had ended differently I probably would have been upset so I would say yes but maybe a little twist may have been nice.

What did you think of the cover? I love the cover like all of Kiera Cass’s books. I think they are beautiful and really well thought-out. 

Would you recommend this book? Yeah of course I would I actually had a lot of fun reading it and although it wasn’t amazing it was a nice easy fantastical book.

How would you rate it? 3.5/5

Zoe: Thanks for reading guys, if you have read this book please tell me how you enjoyed it in the comments below or ask me any questions. We will be back with another blog hopefully soon! xx

Annike: P.S. Hey guys, this is Annike and I wanted to give you the answer for our last post 3 Truths and a Lie! It turns out the lie was actually #3 ‘I have read over 100 books this year’. I haven’t quite made it to 100 books yet, so that was the lie but I am close!. Nobody actually guessed this one. Most people guessed #2, but in fact I was born in New Zealand and I do love maths 🙂

Thanks for commenting guys!

6 comments

  1. I’ve read siren. and i really liked it. I find that all of Kiera’s books are so easy and nice to read, They aren’t necessarily my favourite but I can read them in half the time it takes me to read other books because of how well they are written

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any Kiera Cass books since I’ve heard mixed things about The Selection being a little repetitive with the same ideas and concepts, but I’m a huge fan of siren/mermaid type novels so I may try and track it down from the library to give it a go. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

