Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella ~ Book Review

Annike: Hey everybody, it’ Annike here today with a review on a book I recently finished called Finding Audrey. It is a book that focuses on the topic of mental health and anxiety which is something I am researching at the moment so I found it very interesting. 

23305614.jpgAn anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energised.

She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

So I thought that the premise of this book was really good and I love to see important and prevalent topics like mental health in YA fiction. The story focuses on a girl called Audrey who is 14 years old. Most of the books I read have main characters who are a little older than I am so I think it was cool to read about someone who was younger than me and I couldnt relate to.

I liked how in the story Audrey was almost hiding her secret the whole time which was a way that Sophie Kinsella was able to keep my on the edge of my seat and keep reading it.  I also liked the way that we were able to engage in another part of Audrey’s life through the way of her filming and interviewing her family. I found that while the story may not have been the most interesting storyline ever it had really good aspects.

What I loved the absolute most about this story was definitely the family dynamic. Frank, who was Audrey’s older brother and her mum had the funniest lines ever! It is not very often that books make me laugh out loud but there were so many times when I just quoted the book to Zoe because I thought it was so funny. Audrey’s mum was such a classic mum, because she was so involved in her children’s lives and even though she was so desperate for Frank and Audrey to be successful it was obviously too much for that family. Her brother was so supportive but also had a great character of his own and his dad was very nonchalant and absent minded which I loved too.

I wasn’t too sure about the relationship that Audrey had with Linus. Honestly, Linus seemed too pushy and was almost shaping Audrey into who he wanted her to be. I also never really felt connected with them but I could tell that Audrey was still able to come out of her shell more around him which was nice.

Overall, I really liked this book. It was great for my research on anxiety and it had some really great characters. I wasn’t really that engaged in the plot which let the book down a bit but overall I would definitely recommend this book to anyone out there.

3.5/5 stars

7 comments

Leave a Reply

