October Read ~ 2016

Hey guys, so it is officially the last day of October here. I can’t believe how fast it went! Anyways this is our wrap ups for the month which as always feature all the books we have read this month and what we thought of them so let’s go!

Annike’s Books:

  1. The Girl in the Blue Coat by Monica Hesse – 3 stars (2 days)
  2. Promise me Something by Sarah Kocek – 2 stars (1 day)
  3. What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick – 4 stars (6 days)
  4. First and Then by Emma Mills – 2 stars (4 days)
  5. Ashes Ashes by Jo Tregiarri – 2 stars (5 days)
  6. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – 3 stars (months!)
  7. The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love by Sarvenaz Tash – 2 stars (4 days)
  8. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson – 4 stars (3 days)

Screen Shot 2016-10-30 at 6.07.04 pm.pngSo I got through 8 books this month which I was pretty psyched about! Although I have to say, the majority of them I didn’t really enjoy very much and there were only 2 that got above 3 stars. So firstly, the books I awarded 4 stars this month were What I thought was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick and Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. I have reviewed both of them so check them out 🙂 They were both pretty light reads but there was always context behind them and I found them both very character driven and fun. Then there was The Girl in the Blue Coat which was in the historical fiction genre, a genre I rarely ever look at so I was glad to get out of my comfort zone a bit and read it even if it didn’t interest me 100%. I gave that book 3 stars along with City of Bones which I had very high expectations for that unfortunately was not delivered. It did have some high points though and I did enjoy it so it wasn’t all bad. Without going into too much detail, the other 4 books that I gave 2 stars were very uninteresting most of the time and didn’t have a defining factor to get me interested. First and Then and The Geek;s Guide to Unrequited Love both had very limited character development meaning I didn’t really care about the characters as well as having next to no plot. The other two were similar cases with no luck. Anyways, I don’t want to bore anyone so I won’t go into them all but they were the books I read this month!

Zoe’s Books:

  1. Sidekicks by Will Kostakis – 3.5 stars (1 day)
  2. Thorn Abbey by Nancy Ohlin – 1 stars (2 days)
  3. The Protected by Claire Zorn – 4 stars (7 days)

Screen Shot 2016-10-30 at 6.36.33 pm.png

I only got through 3 books this month which was a bit disappointing however I felt that throughout the month I didn’t feel so much like reading so I read my first 2 books at the very beginning of the month and just finished one today. The first book I read was Sidekicks by Will Kostakis which I thought was really well thought through and had a really original idea of what would happen if the person who keeps everyone friends died. I loved the characters however some parts of the book were a bit plain and I didn’t feel like I was as engaged in the story as I would have liked, however I loved the ending. The second book I read was Thorn Abbey which I really didn’t love. I had no idea when I picked this book up it would be so supernatural and really unbelievable so when I started reading it I found it really weird and a bit creepy however I managed to finish it although I didn’t enjoy it too much. The last book I read was The Protected by Claire Zorn which I think had a really lovely story line and included a really important moral which I loved. I loved the character of Josh as he had such a good sense of humour and never gave up on Hannah (the main character). Overall I didn’t have a great month of reading but am hoping to have a better one next month.

Zoe: Thanks for reading, if you have read any of the books we listed make sure to comment and tell us what you thought of it. We will be back soon hopefully with a TBR for November.

6 comments

  1. This month was totally insane for me! I’m glad that it’s over. Congratulations on accomplishing so much this month Annike! I’m disappointed that you only gave 3 stars to City of Bones but I can also see where you’re coming from. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can’t believe it’s October Wrap Up already! Time sure went by fast! Annike got a lot of reading done! Congrats! I do want to read City of Bones one of these days 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

