City of Bones by Cassandra Clare ~ Book Review

Annike: Hey guys, so I FINALLY, FINALLY finished City of Bones by Cassandra Clare after stressing about it for like 3 months and not being able to get back into it. Before I start the review I just want to thank all of you for getting Twin Tales to 200 followers! It means a lot to us and it wouldn’t be true if not for all of you guys and your support so thank you.

Now, I’m ready to review City of Bones so here it goes!

256683.jpgWhen fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

So I want to start off by saying that I began this book like 2 months ago and gave up on it after about 150 pages. I’m not really sure why because it wasn’t like it was terrible but I didn’t feel inclined to keep going. Anyways, I got back into the book and was able to keep going but it still took me a little under a week to finish the whole thing which was not really very good for me. I found that I read it on the bus when I always read but I didn’t feel inclined to pick it up outside of that which is something that usually tells me wether I like a book or not. 

So the book opens up with Clary who thinks she is just a very ‘normal girl’ until she is caught up in this secret world of monsters and Shadowhunters. I think that I found Clary a very good protagonist despite a few reviews I’ve read that didn’t like her so much. She seemed relatable but also she developed a lot in the story. Then there was Jace who seemed to be extremely closed off. He kept everyone at an arms length and I think he was one of those cliché characters as a male who seemed very moody and angry for most of the book. However I could find some admirable qualities about him so he was generally enjoyable to read about. 

Most of the other characters in this book didn’t seem to make a lasting impact except maybe that of Luke and Simon. Luke was the man who Clary grew up with and I found that he came around and eventually ended up as a good guy. Simon was the best friend whose feelings for Clary went unreciprocated. I found that Simon annoyed me a lot, he was a little bit desperate and to be honest I did not like him and Clary together at all but he was a good character and a good person. I wasn’t a fan particularly of the world that Cassandra Clare created because it seemed like it never really was developed very well and there didn’t seem much order through what kind of creatures were allowed in the world. 

I think there was a lot of pick up in pace toward the end of the novel and I accidentally spoiled the ending for myself but nevertheless it was a very unexpected twist of events. I think that maybe it may have been the case that I went into the book with very high expectations because of the huge amount of attention it has got but at the same time it wasn’t all that bad. There wasn’t something that particularly pulled me into the story and left me wanting more but I think the writing was very well done and Cassandra Clare is clearly an amazing author. 

Star Rating: 3/5

Anyways, hope this was a little bit insightful. I’d love to know what you guys think about this book and if you agree or disagree with me. Also do you think it is worth reading the second book because I haven’t ruled out reading the rest of the series yet! Thanks for reading this guys, we’ll be back soon x

11 comments

  1. City of Bones is the weakest book of Cassie’s in my opinion, her writing does progress with each book though so I enjoyed this series but The Infernal Devices is one of my faves by her 🙂 Are you planning on reading the rest of the series?

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this book and I’m watching the tv show. I’m a fan of the series. Though not as much as I’m of The Vampire Diaries (in the series in question vampires are considered inferior so I didn’t like that part). Maybe I liked this series because I’m all into fantasy genre and fantastical characters. But the “reveal” in the climax was disheartening for me. It’s somewhat like Divergent, from the racial differences point of view (I may be wrong in this but I felt so). I haven’t read the other books of the series so I can’t comment much but to me it was an interesting read

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment! Yeah I’ve watched one of the episodes of the TV show and might consider keeping watching it but I definitely agree with the disheartening climax! However the story was really good at some points so I’ll have to see if I want to keep reading.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Here I want to add that there are some books which I liked after my second attempt. First attempt, I had left them incomplete, then some reviews and my friends convinced me to read them and then I liked. This happened because I started reading those with a preconceived notion already in my mind and when it clashed with the book, I didn’t like it at the first attempt. Then I had to get rid of those notions and then started over

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

