What I Thought was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick ~ Book Review

Annike: Hey guys, so here is the review on a book I read several days ago, or maybe it was weeks…It was actually this month so that is good but I do know it was a while ago. Anyways let’s get into it!

15832932Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He’s a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island’s summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she’ll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen’s dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

 

So, in brief, this story was definitely a contemporary kind of story that focused on a girl named Gwen and her need to get out of the small town she had been living in and working in for her whole life. Instead, she gets stuck working for an old lady , taking care of her and all the while she is in the company of the boy who was her ‘biggest mistake’: Cassidy Somers.

To be honest, to me there wasn’t really much going on in this story at all. I found that the story followed the very simple life of Gwen who seemed to be very self indulged half of the time. Her brother Emory had ‘issues’ that were not specified as autistic but also not not specified as that which made it kind of confusing. Then there was her cousin Nick and her best friend Viv who were also a couple. I found that they didn’t exactly resonate with me at all and none of the characters seemed amazing 3D. I also found that the book was far too long at over 400 pages and this wasn’t necessary at all. The flashbacks to the past and Gwen’s history with boys confused me a lot but I guess that could have been my fault too.

I know that so far this review seems really negative but I don’t think that the book was that bad altogether. I really liked the character of Cass who seemed very sweet and maybe slightly overly nice. There was a good use of diversity and I really liked Mrs. Ellington who was the old Lady that Gwen had to look after. I thought Gwen had a really good moral compass while her father definitely did not but overall the growth of the characters was enjoyable to follow. I also think that Huntley Fitzpatrick had a very good use of dialogue and it was funny and enjoyable at the same time as being realistic and solemn.

Overall, I would probably give this book a 3/5 stars. I’ve seen really good reviews on this book from other book bloggers and in the community around so I’m very sorry if you are questioning reading it now. Go ahead you may love it, I have no idea! Thanks for reading guys, we’ll be back on the weekend for another post x

8 comments

Leave a Reply

