To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han ~ Book Review

Zoe: Hey guys I’m here today doing a review on a book I read at the end of last month called To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han which I loved so I thought I would share my thoughts and insights on the book through answering some questions.


15749186To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed.

But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all. 

Favourite Character:

I would have to say my favourite character changed quite a lot during the book as connections were made between Lara Jean and a number of people and whilst I loved Josh at the beginning of the book I feel like I gravitated toward Peter by the end.

What did you think of the main character?

I love Lara Jean as a main character as she is really relatable but still has a very unique personality and I love her characteristics of being very responsible but also having a really good sense of humour making her really cute. Therefore I think I overall just really liked her perspective.

 Favourite quote of the book:

“My letters are for when I don’t want to be in love anymore. They’re for good-bye. Because after I write in my letter, I’m not longer consumed by my all-consuming love…My letters set me free. Or at least they’re supposed to.” 

What was your favourite aspect of the book?

I would have to say all the relationships in the book mainly the relationship all the sisters have and the family relationships. Because they lost their mum when they were young they all help out their dad as much as possible and I think all the ‘song’ sisters are so lovely and caring toward each other (most of the time).

What was your least favourite aspect of the book?

I don’t have a least favourite aspect but I do think the book started off a little slow and I found it really hard to get into the language used as it was very formal and it took a while for me to adjust to.

Would you recommend this book to others, and why?

I would definitely recommend this book to others, as it is such a cute, easy read and had a really interesting concept. I think if you like romance and contemporary books you would definitely enjoy this book

Rating: 5/5

Thank you so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed it and if you have read this book make sure to tell me in the comments below and tell me how you enjoyed it. Thanks again and we will be back soon for another blog.

8 comments

  1. I loved this book! The only thing that bothered me a little with it was that Lara Jean seemed quite childish in the ways that she spoke and acted, but other than that I loved seeing her “relationship” with Peter grow!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

