Life In Outer Space by Melissa Keil

Annike: Hey guys, so it’s just me today here to review a book that I read at the very end of last month while I was away on holidays. It was very character driven story, that ended up being really good so here is my review. 

16119664.jpgSam Kinnison is a geek, and he’s totally fine with that. He has his horror movies, his nerdy friends, World of Warcraft – and until Princess Leia turns up in his bedroom, he doesn’t have to worry about girls.

Then Sam meets Camilla. She’s beautiful, friendly and completely irrelevant to his life. Sam is determined to ignore her, except that Camilla has a life of her own – and she’s decided that he’s going to be part of it.

Sam believes that everything he needs to know he can learn from the movies … but now it looks like he’s been watching the wrong ones.

So to begin, I have to be totally honest. When I first picked up this books I got around 100 pages through before I stopped reading it all together, picked up and finished another book and then came back around. To be fair, this gap was only a day or so but Life in Outer Space, didn’t seem to hook me straight way but I guess that was ok in the end.

The story follows a boy named Sam who I really enjoyed reading about. He differed from my predominant female MC books and I liked that he had a real interest with his own cliche. Sam had an average kind of lifestyle. He had a group of friends of whom were sitting on the lowest rung of the social ladder like him and he had a perfectly acceptable outlook of himself. That is until a girl named Camilla comes into the picture. She’s bright and happy and more importantly, after spending her beginning days in the ‘popular crowd’ she seems to have decided that she wants to hang out with Sam and his group. Life in Outer Space focuses very intently on how Camilla comes into the picture and completely flips every thing on its head.

What I think I really liked about this book was the way it was so character driven. The plot could have had more content but mostly it was amazing being able to really relate to characters. There was firstly, Sam and Camilla who were the main characters and were both really well developed. Then there was Sam’s best friend; Mike. Mike was a very serious and driven character, and to add to the diversity of the book he was also gay. Then came Allison, the (former) only girl of the group. She was quite quiet and originally displayed as being very young acting and looking. However it was great to see Allison develop into her final character and represent herself the way she wanted at the end of the book. And lastly in the group came Adrian, who unfortunately I had to hate only because he was set up as one of those really annoying friends who just seem to be struggling as a teenager. Still, I loved the way that these characters came together as a group and were able to really appeal to me despite the fact that I feel nothing like any of them.

Overall, while the beginning of the book was a bit of a struggle, by the middle and end I really didn’t want to put it down. It was set in Australia where I live which was another pro, because I hardly read any books set over here. I absolutely adored the ending and the book just really resonated with me as a whole. If you have read this book or are wondering if you should, please leave a comment down below to let me know and I definitely recommend this book to everyone!

Star Rating: 4/5

Thanks for reading everyone x

5 comments

Leave a Reply

