September Read ~ 2016

Zoe: Hey guys sorry were a bit late on this post, we only just got back from a holiday but Annike and I are going to be sharing what books we read this month and how we enjoyed them so here we go…

Annike’s Books

  1. More of Me by Kathryn Evans – 3 stars (4 days)
  2. I’ll be yours by Jenny B. Jones – 4 stars (2 days)
  3. P.S I like you by Kasie West – 4 stars (1 day)
  4. Home Front Girl by Joan Wehlen Morrison – 1 star (8 days)
  5. Hung Up by Kristen Tracy – 2 stars (1 day)
  6. Moth Girls by Anne Cassidy – 2 stars (5 days)
  7. A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall – 2 stars (1 day)
  8. The Last Time we Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand – 4 stars (2 days)
  9. Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall – 2 stars (2 days)
  10. Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone – 5 stars (1 day)
  11. Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil – 4 stars (3 days)
  12. Are you Still There by Sarah Lynn Scheerger – 3 stars (2 days)
  13. The Beginning of After by Jennifer Castle – 2 stars (2 days)

Screen Shot 2016-10-03 at 6.08.29 PM.pngSo I think I got around to reading a lot of books this month which was really positive. This is the second highest month for me but I found that while I was able to read a lot, I didn’t enjoy a lot of the books that I did get around to. Five of my book choices only received 2 stars which is not very good overall and I think this was mainly because I found them lacking a lot of depth. This went for the two books by Sandy Hall: A Little Something Different and Signs Point to Yes, as well as books like Hung up by Kristen Tracy. They were focused very centrally on relationships and cuteness that I ended up not liking the characters at all and this is a major downfall for me. The only book that got a 1 star rating was Homefront Girl by Joan Morrison and it was a first for me because it was a biography, but personally it skipped around a lot and was really hard to connect and get into without enough context. I however, don’t want to judge this book too harshly considering I’m not really much of a fan of nonfiction and so it may be really good in the eyes of others. A couple of the books I did adore, have reviews written on them like Every Last Word, P.S. I like you and The Last Time we Say Goodbye so make sure you go and check them out on our blog. Then there was I’ll be Yours by Jenny B. Jones and Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil which both got my other 4 stars. What I liked about these books in particular was the way that the books were very character driven and really allowed connection between the characters and the reader and this is definitely something I look for in books. Anyways, so I can’t really get to them all today in depth but keep a look out for some reviews on these books in the next month because I’ll definitely hope to review a couple.

Zoe’s Books

  1. Frayed by Kara Terzis by 3 stars (5 days)
  2. Breathing Underwater by Sophie Hardcastle – 5 stars (4 days)
  3. The Sister Pact by Stacie Ramey – 2 stars (2 days)
  4. To all the boys I’ve loved before by Jenny Han – 5 stars (1 day)

Screen Shot 2016-10-03 at 6.14.22 PM.pngI only got around to reading 4 books this month which wasn’t very good seeing as I am currently on school holidays. I didn’t read much throughout the month, only reading in the first couple of days and last couple so I didn’t read as many as I would have liked. The first book I read was Frayed by Kara Terzis. I didn’t really enjoy this book as much as I was thinking I would as it wasn’t really my style. I did a review on in earlier this month so if you are interested you can read that. The second book I read was Breathing Underwater by Sophie Hardcastle which I thought was so well written. It was one of those books that is so honest and truthful and really emotional which I loved. During the last couple days of this month I read The Sister Pact by Stacie Ramey which I had really high expectations for, however I wasn’t very happy with the outcome, I could see how others would have really liked this book, but I think the main reason I didn’t enjoy it very much was the fact that it didn’t have a lot of action and I didn’t feel the story moving forward very much. The last book I read in this month was To all the boys I’ve loved before by Jenny Han. I had heard amazing things about this book and was really excited to read it. I felt as if it started out a bit slow however as the story progressed I found it so cute and such an amazing story. I think it would definitely make it into the top of my favourite books this year so I was really happy with that.
Annike: Thanks for reading guys, Zoe and I read a lot of these books while we were away on vacation and because we had no wifi we were unable to review them. This means that while some may look unfamiliar we will hope to get a few of them reviewed in the next month along with current reads and catch you all up because I know we did really enjoy a couple of them. But that’s all fo today we will be back very very soon for an October TBR! x

9 comments

Leave a Reply

