Breathing Underwater by Sophie Hardcastle ~ Book Review

Hey guys it’s Zoe here today and I’m doing a review on the book I finished yesterday called Breathing Underwater by Sophie Hardcastle.

urlNineteen minutes and eleven seconds separated us at birth. On the official documentation, he is older . . . Although it really has nothing to do with age. What it really means is that I am, and have always been, second.

Ben and Grace Walker are twins. Growing up in a sleepy coastal town it was inevitable they’d surf. Always close, they hung out more than most brothers and sisters, surfing together for hours as the sun melted into the sea. At seventeen, Ben is a rising surf star, the golden son and the boy all the girls fall in love with. Beside him, Grace feels like she is a mere reflection of his light. In their last year of school, the world beckons, full of possibility. For Grace, finishing exams and kissing Harley Matthews is just the beginning. Then, one day, the unthinkable. The sun sets at noon and suddenly everything that was safe and predictable is lost. And everything unravels.

I thought this book was really powerful, deep and was an emotional roller coaster of teenage grief. First of all I thought the cover was absolutely amazing and because it had really good reviews I was expecting a lot. Fortunately this book didn’t let me down, as I loved it. I’ve never read a book like this before and I thought it was so well written, depicting honest exploration of self-destruction and finding your way through life.

I loved the characters as well, because they were very relatable and diverse. I would say my favourite character would have to be Ben as I thought he was really genuine and had the biggest heart. I loved Ben as a character as he was so caring and loving toward Grace. In the blurb of the book it said that Grace always felt as if she lived in Ben’s shadow and I imagined Ben as being a bit arrogant and distant however this was completely inaccurate. I felt that when I was reading this book, Grace didn’t seem as if she was in the background of the picture. I did think her Dad overlooked her during the entire book and always saw Ben as his favourite kid, but herself and Ben seemed to be quite similar popularity wise as they had the same friends. Ben and Grace’s relationship was so beautiful and sweet as he would always protect her and I thought this was really well written and explored.

As the story drew on and everything went down hill I found a lot of the characters slowly slipping away from themselves and felt real sympathy toward each and every character. I felt as if I had become really close to all the characters and as their relationships began to wither away I felt really bad for them. I thought Grace’s character development was quite confronting but realistic. I loved the story line and the language was really powerful, making me tear up quite a few times.

The story displays a beautifully descriptive message of loss, losing your way and how tragedy can often destroy those left behind. The writing was captivating from the very first page and really drew you in. I found myself lost in the story and couldn’t put the book down. I thought this book was amazing and would definitely recommend it anyone who loves emotional, young adult, contemporary books as it pulls on your heartstrings. I don’t know exactly what I would rate this book as I need it to sink in however I would give it 4.5/5 stars for now.

Thanks for reading guys, we will hopefully be back in a few days with another book review. x

5 comments

Leave a Reply

