Frayed by Kara Terzis ~ Book Review

Hey guys it Zoe here today and I am going to be a doing a review on the book I recently read called Frayed.

29057066Dear Kesley,
My therapist tells me I should write you a letter. Like flushing all my thoughts and feelings out of my system and onto paper. I tell her it’s a stupid idea.
But here I am, writing a letter to a dead girl. Where do I start? Where did our story begin? From the moment you were born…or died?
I’ll start with the moment I found out the truth about you. Your lies and my pain. Because it always begins and ends with you.
And that end began when Rafe Lawrence came back to town…

Ava Hale will do anything to find her sister’s killer…although she’ll wish she hadn’t. Because the harder Ava looks, the more secrets she uncovers about Kesley, and the more she begins to think that the girl she called sister was a liar. A sneak. A stranger. And Kesley’s murderer could be much closer than she thought…

I began this book with pretty low expectations. I didn’t think a lot from it and was really enjoying it throughout most of the book finding it really engaging and seeing as I love mystery books I found this one really cool and became able to connect with a lot of the characters really well throughout the book. As the book progressed I found myself wanting to know what was going to happen so much, which was really positive, as I was captivated, however the ending of this book let down a lot of thoughts toward this book. I don’t want to give the ending away so if you want to find out you will just have to read it, just know there is a very big twist.

As for the main character Ava, I felt quite sorry for her throughout this book as she’d lost pretty much all her family and only had her foster mother left. It was also difficult for her knowing that her sister’s killer was still on the loose. I thought she wasn’t as easy to relate to and all the characters in the book weren’t very realistic. You could barley rely on anyone throughout the book and it felt like Ava’s entire life was just falling apart. I felt as if some of the characters were extremely well developed however as the story went on they seemed to get more and more strange and the end just took the entire story and flipped it on its side and got really dark and sinister.

“Time was precious. It could seep past you without you even knowing. And then, in the blink of an eye, it could vanish.” 

One thing I absolutely loved about the book was the letters Ava inserted into the story as they were really moving and written really well so a big thumbs up to Kara Terzis for this. I found myself really wanting to get to a letter as I found they gave a lot of information about all the character and thoughts of Ava throughout the book that would have otherwise been missed. She said a lot of interesting things in these letters that made a lot of sense in the context of the book so this was definitely a highlight.

I think the overall feeling from this book was depressing and I felt a lot of sympathy for Ava. The book was filled with really deep topics and nothing would go Ava’s way, which I thought was really sad. I found that throughout the book things gradually got worse and worse for her and although this was a bit sad at least it got me connected to the main character. Although I wouldn’t say it was my exact style I did enjoy reading the book and would recommend you give it a go if you enjoy mystery book with a bit of a twist.

Thanks for reading and we will be back if a couple of days hopefully for another review. x

One comment

Leave a Reply

