P.S. I Like You by Kasie West ~ Book Review

Annike: Hey guys, so I’m back here for the first review of the month which was a really quick read for me and I was able to finish in less than a day. I love contemporary novels and I’ve read all of Kasie West’s books so when her new book ‘P.S. I Like You’ came out a couple of months ago I instantly wanted it and I finally got to read it and really really liked it, so here is my review. NOTE: There are spoilers in here so if you want to read the book, DO NOT scroll 🙂

Star Rating: 4/5

25486998.jpgWhile spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favourite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realises she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

So this is a contemporary book that focuses on both Cade and Lily who start off as – yep you guessed it – enemies! They hate each other, they are always throwing insults at each other because Lily is a quiet and strange girl while Cade is the stereotypical popular jock. I really liked both of these characters even though I’ve heard some negative feedback on the MC of the book. I thought Lily was a really loveable character, she was mysterious and intriguing and I found myself really relating to her character because of the fact that she would be someone that I would love to be friends with 🙂

Next there was Cade, who was built up to be this powerful jock but through the letters that he and Lily were anonymously sending each other you got to see another side to him which was fun. While I still didn’t understand or excuse his actions by the end, I loved his final action and thought that he and Lily really complimented each other.

And the last major character was Isabella, who was Lily’s best friend and Cade’s ex girlfriend, which made matters very complicated when Lily started to like Cade. Anyways, I thought Isabella was an amazing character, she was sweet and beautiful and I can’t believe how accepting she became of Lily and Cade. I did also like the small hiccup between these best friends because it was realistic and a really proper response.

The plot was very cute and sweet, Lily and Cade were mysteriously writing letters to each other and meanwhile both hating each other in real life. I did wonder if Lily actually did any school because you never heard about that, but it’s a book so whatever. I also loved Lily’s family because this made her life so much more interesting and I loved the way that they all loved each other and interacted with each other.

So overall, this was a really good book it was short and sweet and it was a really good light read. If you’ve read this book please let me know what you thought and we’ll be back later in the week for another review. x

2 comments

Leave a Reply

