The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver ~ Book Review

Annike: Hey guys, sorry our posting schedule has been a bit off this month, I posted late last week and skipped the weekend review because unfortunately I had nothing to review and now today I am a day early but I guess it doesn’t really matter and we’re just posting when we have something to post :). Okay anyways, I just finished a book I really wanted to review so here goes…

21469095.jpgElla and Maddy Lawton are identical twins. Ella has spent her high school years living in popular Maddy’s shadows, but she has never been envious of Maddy. In fact, she’s chosen the quiet, safe confines of her sketchbook over the constant battle for attention that has defined Maddy’s world.

When—after a heated argument—Maddy and Ella get into a tragic accident that leaves her sister dead, Ella wakes up in the hospital surrounded by loved ones who believe she is Maddy. Feeling responsible for Maddy’s death and everyone’s grief, Ella makes a split-second decision to pretend to be Maddy. Soon, Ella realizes that Maddy’s life was full of secrets. Caught in a web of lies, Ella is faced with two options—confess her deception or live her sister’s life.


Plot:
So what I really loved about this book was the plot and the very original idea. As soon as a I read the synopsis I was hooked and I desperately wanted the book. I loved that it was about twins, because being a twin makes reading about them 10 times better! I thought that it was such an interesting idea and was also well executed to a point. One point on the negative side I do have to make is to say that ‘the life full of secrets’ and ‘caught in a web of lies’ in the synopsis was a little bit over the top, I found this revelation of Maddy’s life pretty underwhelming at the end of the book so the climax could have been better developed. 

Characters: So, when it comes to books I really love it to be character driven however one of the downfalls for this book was definitely the characters. I felt like the book was very short that I didn’t get to really meet any of the characters at all. I had no image of Josh (Ella’s best friend) but only that he seemed to have been close to Ella, however saying that he was probably one of my favourite characters. Molly who was one of former Maddy’s friends, I knew next to nothing about and she was a key character of the story. To be honest I couldn’t even picture what the twins looked like because there was no real description and the only character who I thought seemed to generally nice was Alex (Maddy’s former boyfriend) and even then by the end he wasn’t even worth liking. I think they weren’t very well developed but I enjoyed reading about them anyways.  

Writing: I think that Trisha Leaver did a really good job on the writing of this story. There were powerful and well built up lines that added atmosphere to the story but then I also found there were lines of dialogue that sounded so unrealistic that I couldn’t even imagine it being said in real life. I wish the writing style was a bit more emotion evoking but it was strong so I will give it that. 

Ending (spoilers): Let’s just say that being a twin myself, I know very well that something like this would never happen in any situation. There is always a difference in twins and the very fact that neither of her parents could tell kind of bothered me, however I do know this is part of the story. The ending to me was a bit of a let down, it was very flat and every one seemed to simply accept that she was just Ella without even questioning her about what demented reason there was for her to pretend to be her dead sister. I did like the cute, short epilogue at the end though although I would have liked to hear from Alex again in the book because ultimately he was the one that lost the most from finding out that Maddy was gone. 

Annike: Anyways guys, thanks for reading I think overall I would give this book a 4/5, because I really liked the plot and the idea 🙂 If you’ve read this book or want to please let me know. Thanks! xx

Leave a Reply

