The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard) ~ Book Review

Annike: Hey guys, sorry that we are a little late on our usual Wednesday and Saturday post, but I’ve been trying very hard to finish The Sword of Summer and I only jus got it finished last night. I must say this book took me a very long time to read which is really embarrassing but I’m very glad to get to review it because it was a really great book. So let’s get into it.

Star Rating: 4/5

The_Sword_of_Summer.jpgMagnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police officers. One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years. When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Annike: Okay so, this book falls under the fantasy genre which generally isn’t a go to read for me, but I got it for Christmas and I had it sitting on my bookshelf for months. I have to say that I am very glad that I picked it up because although it was very different to a lot of the books I usually read, I absolutely loved it. 

So to begin, with the character of Magnus Chase, I want to say that I absolutely loved him! I don’t usually read books with a male protagonist but Magnus in my opinion was the perfect main character. What I found really stood out in this book was that it was really funny, Magnus was snarky and reminded me of a real person and there were also a good number of current world references which was fun. I haven’t read the Percy Jackson series if i’m being honest but the book didn’t give anything away from that series, which is great although I don’t think I’ll be picking those books up any time soon…sorry.  

The rest of the character were really great too, they were all very different and Rick Riordan definitely did offer a diverse set of character through Samriah: A muslim girl, Blitzen: a dwarf and Hearthstone: an elf :). I have to say I did love the character of The Sword of Summer; Jack! He was funny and amazing, and let’s just say not many books have talking swords in them. The nine worlds in the new life that Magnus was swept up into was also a very interesting place. There were a lot of introduced characters which did make me and bit confused at the beginning as well as the book providing information about Norse Mythology but I was able to get the picture after I’d read it. 

I think overall, I didn’t give it 5 stars because I found it a little bit too long and I never had that feeling of “I can absolutely NOT stop reading this” like I have had for a couple of other books this year. All the while, this book was fantastic, Rick Riordan did a fantastic job on creating this new world and it is safe to say that I will be back for the second book of the series.

Thanks for reading! x 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

