July Read ~ 2016

Zoe: Hey guys, today annike and I will be going through the books we read this month and commenting on how much we enjoyed each one. Let’s get into it.

Zoe’s Books

  1. The yearbook committee by Sarah Ayoub – 4 stars (12 days)
  2. The Rain by Virginia Bergin – 3 stars (3 days)
  3. If I Stay by Gayle Forman – 4 stars (3 days)
  4. All of the Above by James Dawson – 3 stars (7 days)

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 7.21.31 AM

This month I only got around to reading 4 books. I finished all these books by around half way through July but then with school staring I didn’t have a lot of time to read. The first book I read was The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub. It took me so long to get past the 50 page mark but when I did I couldn’t put this book down. I thought it was a really unique read which had such an incredible and emotional ending that it really stands out as a book this month. The 2nd book I read this month was The Rain by Virginia Bergin which I reviewed earlier this month. I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I might have and I didn’t really feel like I connected to any of the characters. If I stay by Gayle Forman was the 3rd book I read this month and after I had watched the movie I was expecting a lot as people always say the book is always better than the movie. I thought the book was so moving and had such an interesting concept of being able to choose to stay or die. I loved all the characters and thought that it definitely lived up to the hype. The last book I read was All of the Above by James Dawson. I wasn’t expecting anything from this book. I picked the book purely based on the cover because I thought it looked amazing and was pleasantly surprised by the book. I wouldn’t say it was the best written book because some parts of the book were cringe worthy and at parts I wasn’t really intrigued but I thought it was a really good coming of age story and included a lot of different issues present in teenagers lives. Overall I really enjoyed most of the books I read this month and can’t wait for some more amazing books in August.

Annike’s books:

  1. Autofocus by Lauren Gibaldi – 3.5 stars (1 day)
  2. The Problem with Forever by Jennifer Armentrout – 4 stars (4 days)
  3. Adorkable by Cookie O’Gorman – 4 stars (1 day)
  4. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson – 4 stars (3 days)
  5. The Opposite of Love by Sarah Lynn Scheerger – 1 star (2 days)
  6. This Song Will Save your Life by Leila Sales – 3 stars (1 day)
  7. How to Disappear by Ann Redisch Stampler – 3.5 stars (9 days)

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 7.34.52 AM

I read quite a few books this month but only really one after the middle mark of July because that was when we went back to school. I really got into a few books and when I started them in the holidays I was able to finish them very quickly. I loved the book Autofocus by Lauren Gibaldi because it was quite deep as a book, a girl trying to understand who her biological mother really was and I thought it was a very individual idea but probably not executed well enough. One book i didn’t like very much at all this month was The Opposite of Love by Sarah Lynn Scheerger because I thought it wasn’t a very good concept at all and all the character were not relatable at all. The ending killed me because it was so rushed and not well thought out at all, so it definitely rated as my lowest book this month. My favourite book of the month was probably Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson but I don’t think I had any real stand out reads, I’m still waiting for one 😩 Adorkable by Cookie O’Gorman was a book I just flew through, it was really a light cutsie book and while it was good it isn’t a book I would read everyday because it wasn’t really very deep at all. And finally, I just finished How to Disappear yesterday and it was a really good read. It took me quite a while to finish but mind you I was also reading two other books so I wasn’t totally focused on it. Anyway those are the books I have read this month, make sure to check them out if you haven’t come across any and this they look good.

Annike: Thanks for reading guys we’ll be back with an August TBR in a couple of days x

Leave a Reply

