This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales – Book Review

Annike: Hi guys, so as July is heading to a close, this is the last book review of the month and to be perfectly honest I have not finished a book in over a week which is extremely embarrassing. However, today I’ve decided to review a book I read while I was still on holidays (a week or so ago) so let’s get into it.

15777621.jpgMaking friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

Annike: So I thought this book had a very interesting concept overall. Elise is a very strong character, established very early as being so undeniably ‘uncool’ and picked on. She was an overachiever who had always been very much herself and it puzzled me as to why she felt so alone, however I thought she was established as a great character. During the beginning I didn’t love how nonchalant she was when she started committing self harm. I don’t think that the author was able to do this action justice and she didn’t really seem that sad at all but more experimental which confused me to start.

However as the story went on I began to realise a little more about Elise which made me more engaged in her story. When she met Pippa and Vicky I wasn’t really sure about them as characters, they were older and very different to Elise and I never really felt that strong of a connection between the 3 or even 2 of them but it was nice to see Elise finally feeling something. Then came Char, a character I honestly couldn’t stand. He obviously didn’t seem to care about Elise much at all and I thought it was a bit useless involving this romance in the story even if it wasn’t very dominant and didn’t carry through. Safe to say the story wasn’t really a romance story and while that was fine I wish that Char had of been a better person as to not make it harder on Elise.

I found that there was a lot of characters I didn’t like but I did really like a lot of Elise’s family and I thought that the plot was well developed. What I also liked was the involvement very heavily of music which I always consider to be very powerful. DJing was something I really did like of Elise and this escape was something very strong.

Overall, I liked that this book was really quite deep and involved some serious topics that aren’t always in the Young Adult fiction section. It is definitely very refreshing to read something like this and while I didn’t particularly love this book it definitely had some commendable areas. I also know it is very popular in the wider community so there’s that too. Anyways, thanks for reading we will be back for a July ‘wrap up’ in a couple of days so look out for that x

One comment

Leave a Reply

