The Rain by Virginia Bergin ~ Book Review

Hey it’s Zoe here today and I’m going to be doing a review on the book I recently read called The Rain.

url.jpg It’s in the rain…and just one drop will kill you.

They don’t believe it at first. Crowded in Zach’s kitchen, Ruby and the rest of the partygoers laugh at Zach’s parents’ frenzied push to get them all inside as it starts to drizzle. But then the radio comes on with the warning, “It’s in the rain! It’s fatal, it’s contagious, and there’s no cure.”

Two weeks later, Ruby is alone. Anyone who’s been touched by rain or washed their hands with tap water is dead. The only drinkable water is quickly running out. Ruby’s only chance for survival is a treacherous hike across the country to find her father-if he’s even still alive.

I thought this book was really promising. I loved the blurb and the story line sounded amazing so I was really looking forward to reading this book. I wouldn’t say I was disappointed because I still enjoyed the book however it wasn’t as impressive as I thought it was going to be. Things I liked about this book included the story itself and plot which I thought was really original and quite interesting, enough to keep me reading. I loved some of the characters, my favourite being Darius because I think he had the right kind of personality and stuck to his morals even if people didn’t agree with him and I thought he was definitely a good addition to the book. It had a good mix of humour, post apocalyptic horror and tragic elements that kept you reading.

 “And because we might have had no time at all in the world, it seemed as if we had all the time in the world. We had all the time there ever was and ever will be.” 

First of all, one of the problems I had with this book was the main character Ruby. I think most of the characters were well set out and had good personalities but I don’t think Ruby was developed and she was very hard to relate to or like. Ruby is portrayed as a popular snobby girl who disdains from those she doesn’t have time for, such as nerds and her step-father, anyone who might rub her the wrong way. The reason I didn’t connect with Ruby as much as I thought I would was because she didn’t really evolve throughout the book as much as I thought someone would in spite of all the events happening in her life.

Another issue with this book was the fact that it was a bit of a slow story line. The funny thing is, the book was packed with action and events and very rarely had a break in the plot but this was something that really impacted my thought on the book. The characters were constantly doing things which is expected in a situation like this but in some parts where they weren’t the scene would really drag out and in others where the action increased I didn’t feel very connected to the book, however I do think there were some nice twists. I think the emotion in the book was well captured with some really devastating aspects. This book wasn’t written as well as I was hoping and I think that it really could have been expanded upon and more engaging if the main character was more relatable because she was often very frustrating. 

Although I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I would have liked or have enjoyed other books this year, if you think you would like this book please give it ago. I this this is a book you either love or hate but definitely has some strong aspects of adventure and survival. 

 Thanks for reading this review, if you have read this book make sure to tell me if you enjoyed it in the comments. Thanks, and we will be back with another blog soon. x

One comment

Leave a Reply

