The Problem With Forever by Jennifer Armentrout ~ Book Review

Annike: Hello everybody, today I am here with a review on a book I read earlier this week called The Problem with Forever. I actually found this book on the feed of by WordPress and though I’d try to read it so I downloaded the ebook version but then I ended up finding it in the library as well and really decided to get stuck into it. 

26721568.jpgFor some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, she never imagined she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

Let me just start by saying that this cover is so beautiful, I fell in love with it and this was one of the reasons that I decided to pick the book up, contrary to the popular saying that you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover 🙂

Mallory considers herself extremely lucky, despite the terrible and abusive foster home that she grew up in, she is now the daughter to two successful doctors and her decision to attend a public school for senior year is mostly for them because they want her to grow up and work in medicine like they did and like their daughter did who unfortunately passed away. Mallory or Mouse was a really deep character. She had a lot of flaws but it was through these that you really got to see her for who she was and I really liked that about her despite the fact that I found it quite hard to relate to her inability to talk and quite understandable that is. 

Then there was Rider, he was quite mixed up in the wrong crowd of people but it looked like that was mainly in the past and I thought that he was very heroic considering how he was always there for Mallory both in the present time and very much in the past. What I really liked about the book as well was how we got to read about the past of the children and how this shaped who they were. 

Overall, I really liked how the book dealt so much with the idea of accepting yourself and loving yourself because this was really hard for Mallory. I liked how the character were so well developed and Mallory and Rider just seemed perfect for each other. This book wasn’t really a typical high school romance at all, it was a lot darker and deeper than expected but I think that was what made it so interesting. I would have to say that I thought the book was way too long for what it was about and in the middle I felt a little bit swamped about how much there was to go, and would have liked it to be a bit shorter and more engaging but all up I thought it was a very good book. 

Star Rating: 4/5

Thanks for reading guys, feel free to give this book a go, it’s a really good one and if you have read it we would love to hear your thoughts. I’ll be back later this week hopefully with Zoe x

One comment

Leave a Reply

