The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub ~ Review

Zoe: Hey guys, so Annike and I have both recently finished the book, The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub and we decided to do a joint review on the book by answering some questions. Hope you enjoy.

26241526

Five teenagers. Five lives. One final year.

The school captain: Ryan has it all … or at least he did, until an accident snatched his dreams away. How will he rebuild his life and what does the future hold for him now?

The newcomer: Charlie’s just moved interstate and she’s determined not to fit in. She’s just biding her time until Year 12 is over and she can head back to her real life and her real friends.

The loner: At school, nobody really notices Matty. But at home, Matty is everything. He’s been single-handedly holding things together since his mum’s breakdown, but never felt so alone.

The popular girl: Well, the popular girl’s best friend. Tammi’s always bowed to peer pressure, but when the expectations become too much to handle, will she finally stand up for herself?

The politician’s daughter: Gillian’s dad is one of the most recognisable people in the state and she’s learning the hard way that life in the spotlight comes at a very heavy price.

Five unlikely teammates thrust together against their will. Can they find a way to make their final year a memorable one or will their differences tear their world apart?

1: Favourite Character?

Annike: I really liked the character of Charlie in this book because I loved her sassiness and the way she was so determined to get what she wanted. She was an awesome feminist and was smart and snarky. I also loved how she clashed with Ryan because it made for a really interesting character reaction.

Zoe: My favourite character in this story would have to be Ryan. Most of the characters in this story were very hard to relate to as they were so different and diverse but I think Ryan had the best sense of character and was the most realistic and genuine character in my opinion and I found myself liking him more throughout the story.

2: Favourite Quote?

Zoe: I loved heaps of quotes in this book especially ones near the end of the story but I don’t want to spoil anything so one quote which I did love was “Just because you can’t kick goals, doesn’t mean you won’t motivate people to kick theirs. I bet that will be just as rewarding.”

3: What did you like most about the book?

Annike: I thought that the book focused very much on character development which was great and the way they interacted with one another and I really liked this in the book. It was nice seeing what may have been just 2D characters turn much more 3D when they were uncovered especially since all of them had a lot of secrets. But I also loved how the book was set in Sydney and around where my school is and where Zoe and I live so it was great to be looking out for familiar places.

Zoe: I really liked all the different perspectives shown. Although at the beginning it was quite hard to decipher was was speaking and I had to keep flipping back to the blurb to see who each person was, as the story developed I found myself getting really into each of the different stories and became very interested in how each of the people’s stories overlapped and how they connected with each other throughout the book.

4: What did you like least about the book?

Zoe: I think the weakest part of the book was the beginning as I wasn’t motivated to read the book. It started out very slow and became very hard to know who was who and what was happening as so many characters were introduced. I think if it had been more spaced out and each person had more of an introduction I might have been drawn into the book a bit more than I was in the beginning.

Annike: I agree with Zoe about the book being a little bit slow especially in the beginning because not much happened and there were a few events that were turned into things that weren’t really very big but were made to sound like they were and this got me a little bit annoyed at some points.

5: Did you like the way the book ended?

Annike: The ending of the book was so different than to where the story looked like it was heading. I don’t want to spoil anything but I was very glad that the ending was so strong and actually engaging rather than just fading out. But it did very much take me by surprise.

Zoe: I thought the ending of this book was so unexpected but so moving and strong at the same time so yes I loved the way the book ended and would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes reading contemporary young adult books.

6: Star Rating

Zoe: 4/5

Annike: 3.5/5
Annike: Thank you so much for reading guys. If you have read this please let us know what you thought and if you haven’t give it a go because it was definitely a really good book. Hope everyone has a great weekend and we’ll be back next week.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

